Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-06-2003, 07:21 AM   #1
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Unusual Hypershade Nodes

Well, I'm finally getting into creating my own complex shaders, but I'm running into trouble real quick. Some nodes can't be created in hypershade by just going to the Create list and selecting them. If you've ever downloaded shaders and graphed them out, you've seen things like "time" nodes, "translateX" nodes, and nodes with X='s on them. All of these are actually attributes found in the attribute editor for objects.

Amazingly, I figured out how they make some of them. If you want something like a locator node to appear in hypershade, you simply select it, then choose (in hypershade) Graph>Add Selected to Graph and poof your locator node appears. I had no idea shape nodes and the like could be used for shaders until now, so I am really interested in it all.

The question is not "how do you get certain nodes into hypershade," but "where can you find nodes like "time," translateX/Y/Z, etc.?" I have tried displaying certain nodes in the hypergraph, but can't seem to find a way to do that in order to select them. I have tried selecting attributes in the channel box like translateX, then choosing "add selection to graph" but that does not work either. I have a few shaders with these nodes if you're completely lost as to what I'm talking about. Any ideas?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2003, 12:35 AM   #2
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

yes - you could create a connection from your shading node to a attribute you want to appear in hypershade. and then select the shading node, and say graph->input and output connections.

if you must have the darn time in your shading network, just open up the connection editor, hypershade and outliner at the same time. select you shader and in connection editor reload right or left (the -> to) part. now go to outliner, disable "show dag objects only" - click on time1 and back to connectio editor, and load the from side. now you can connect outime to the something in the shader. now select shader again - and graph input and output connections. you not only have time1 in hypergrapgh, you also got between shader and time1 a "timeToUnitConversion1" - real interesting. i would never have known how to create such a node - but it is in hypershade to play around now

hope that helps
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2003, 12:36 AM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

oops, everywhere i said hypergraph i meant hypershade
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2003, 12:41 AM   #4
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

hope my answer was of use, as you did not want to know how to get things into hypershade - but getting the time in is the same as add selection to graph
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.