Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-06-2003, 11:49 PM   #1
spandy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Set ramp color position as driven

Hi there

I've made an eyeball with a pupil from a ramp texture. Then I've made a custom attribute "Pupil" inside my locator for the eyeball.

Now I want the pupil to crow as the pupil attribute changes. Inside the "Set Driven Key" dialog there is no "position" attribute for the ramp, so I added it inside the "Channel Control" of the ramp, named "colorEntryList[1].position", when I now got back to my "Set Driven Key" dialog I got a new attribute "Position" for the ramp, but when I try to set it as a key, I get the error message "Error: No object matches name ramp1.position".

Am I missing something? Please help me.

Spandy
spandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2003, 06:29 PM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ok, i dnt have a solution, but that is a very good idea!!

you shud link up the ramp position with light intensity, that wud be amazing
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003, 01:37 AM   #3
Blinn
Registered User
 
Blinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If I understand you correctly, (and i hope I do), you want basically want to be able to drive where color's position on the ramp will be?

to test I set up a 3 color circle ramp on a nurbs plane. The top color being white(colorEntryList[2]), and the bottom 2 black(colorEntryList[0] & [1]) . The I used the following expression to test it out.

ramp3.colorEntryList[2].position = nurbsPlane1.translateY (replace this with whatever)

as i moved my plane along the Y-axis, the circle grew and contracted, as a pupil would.

Hopefully this was what you meant!
__________________
________

- Jacob
Blinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003, 01:51 AM   #4
Blinn
Registered User
 
Blinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just tryed it with light intensity, it was pretty cool.

ramp3.colorEntryList[2].position = 1-(ambientLightShape1.intensity)

that would need to be tweaked though
__________________
________

- Jacob
Blinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003, 06:31 PM   #5
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default Re: Set ramp color position as driven

Originally posted by spandy
Hi there

I've made an eyeball with a pupil from a ramp texture. Then I've made a custom attribute "Pupil" inside my locator for the eyeball.

Now I want the pupil to crow as the pupil attribute changes. Inside the "Set Driven Key" dialog there is no "position" attribute for the ramp, so I added it inside the "Channel Control" of the ramp, named "colorEntryList[1].position", when I now got back to my "Set Driven Key" dialog I got a new attribute "Position" for the ramp, but when I try to set it as a key, I get the error message "Error: No object matches name ramp1.position".

Am I missing something? Please help me.

Spandy
set driven key does not work for the "colorEntryList[1].position". the attribute "position" does not belong to the ramp either - it is only a virtual name for the selected position when you edit the ramp in attribute editor. if you want to use a sdk then there is a nasty little workaround for it:
  • create a new float attribute with the needed min and max values for the position of the the desired colorentrylist in ramp1
  • create a new expression with e.g.
    Code:
    ramp1.colorEntryList[1].position = ramp1.pupil_position;
    ramp1.colorEntryList[3].position = ramp1.pupil_position-0.02;
    this you even make as in the example to move 2 positions at once - for a smooth transition from iris to pupil that is always same thickness
  • create another attribute (e.g. in the material, not the ramp) form 0 to 1
  • create a sdk between the new attribute as driver and the ramp1.pupil_position as driven
hope that helps some
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003, 02:24 PM   #6
spandy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your responses.

BabyDuck that was just what I needed.

Spandy
spandy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.