Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-06-2003, 01:36 PM   #1
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default webcounter

this is a little lousy webcounter done in maya - does not look as good as other countes on the web, but at least it is selfmade. it might have been even easier not to do it in 3d, but in 2d to begin with. also i wanted it to look better, but not worth the effort - compromise between look and filesize was hindering. you can see it in action on my homepape - now it actually has maya related content - but only the counter
Attached Images
 
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003, 03:42 PM   #2
abra
Registered User
 
abra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm... a counter you say? but your counter doesnt count anything... could this be a problem perhaps?
abra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003, 06:38 PM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

no it is intended that it does not actually "work". it is an understatement to show how i dont like them counters.

so to say it is a fake counter that only pretends to be
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2003, 09:20 PM   #4
dbirider
Registered User
 
dbirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

... im really really confused at what your trying to get at...
__________________
Visit http://pokeronamac.com for details about Mac compatible poker rooms
dbirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003, 12:08 AM   #5
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I think its neat
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003, 02:14 AM   #6
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

thanks hybrid for the support - glad at least one likes it.

and dbrider, if you get confused, that is on purpose. you see the counter and think - oh one of them counters - lets see if i am visitor 11 or even 12 - oh no it is not telling me - it it does not tell me why is it there. and that is exactly the reason why it is there
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003, 02:29 AM   #7
dbirider
Registered User
 
dbirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

dbirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003, 08:47 AM   #8
abra
Registered User
 
abra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

but in this case i would let the number change slower... that if you look once you think wow i'm visitor number 678677554 and if you look a second time it's only showing 7...
abra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2003, 02:44 AM   #9
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I love it! Wanna know why ducky? Cause it is way off on the right, and you're thinkin "hmm what is that moving pink thing on the right" then you look at it and say "oh its a counter, i've seen these, they spin and its all cool then it stops and shows you an approximate size of the site" but it didn't stop. It wasn't funny until i figured out that it WAS finished and not just awaiting programming.

My point is that i don't like the fact that it confused me, but more that i like the fact it did what it was supposed to, and i didn't even know it!! I love getting my mind messed with, it opens me and and allows me to see more......
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2003, 11:34 PM   #10
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

yea babyduck, this is nice! I have seen the same thing before but instead its numbers flying SUPER fast.. i like the speed you have. If it was faster though with some blur to it, you could make people think that its going up for real. If you go too slow, your animation after a while will just loop and go back to normal and that can be caught by the eye really easily. Nice job .
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2003, 08:26 AM   #11
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

thanks for the feedback

Originally posted by Vectorman

My point is that i don't like the fact that it confused me, but more that i like the fact it did what it was supposed to, and i didn't even know it!! I love getting my mind messed with, it opens me and and allows me to see more......
that is great it served its purpose. everybody can do with a good laugh. you expect it to stop, but it does not. maybe my "you can see it in action on my homepape" was a bit mean. :p

Originally posted by M
yea babyduck, this is nice! ... If you go too slow, your animation after a while will just loop and go back to normal and that can be caught by the eye really easily. Nice job .
i was going for a loop that could play endless. but i did not plan that the left wheel jumps at one point. and it looks like it changes rotation direction. i figured that i leave it that way as it makes it harder to notice it is just 15 frames for the loop. the movement of the wheels is too complex for the eye to obviously see it is looping - even if i only used 2 differant speeds and 2 directions. as for the motion blur: motion blur only works if you have at least 17 fps, so the eye adds the single frames to a motion. if framerate is slower it is just like a blurry slide show. and gif does not really allow to have pr colors. filesize was another issue - the more realism and better look you want, the bigger the file has to be - and for about 20 kb it is good enough for me.

thanks
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 04:04 AM   #12
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Baby duck... I like the image of the cathedral and the bridge. Looks Maya worthy.


__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu

Last edited by dave_baer : 30-06-2003 at 04:06 AM.
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 05:27 AM   #13
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

motion blur has to be 17 fps? Thats cool.. learned something new today . Well, actually learnt a few things.. anyways, i will keep that in mind .
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 10:57 AM   #14
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by M
motion blur has to be 17 fps? Thats cool.. learned something new today
aehm M, dont take it as a definite answer. it is just that about 17 fps is the border where the brain starts to put the frames together as motion. below 17 fps it is similiar to a rotoscope effect - and it would be really strange if it would be blurry. and of course the 17 differs from person to person. it even depends on the lighting situation. usually the lighter the environment the higher the fps has to be - in a movie theater the illusion of motion stops if the movie (e.g. end credits) still plays and they switched on the lights already.


Originally posted by dave_baer
Baby duck... I like the image of the cathedral and the bridge. Looks Maya worthy.


thank you - but it is a photo. even the bridge is complicated enough to turn into 3d - and i for sure had to go and make a lot more detail shots of the bridge.

if you are not convinced it is high detailed, have a look at the file in resolution it came out of my hp 850: http://www.freewebs.com/uwerichter/cologne/
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.