Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-07-2003, 08:02 PM   #1
stamos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default seam in subdivision

Hello

i work with maya 4
1 i have make a half human face with subdivisions
But when imake duplicate or copy the all head is ok but there is a seam

2 i try to use the polygon mirror & subdiv surface /mirror but i see a distrub to the new half

by the way when i try the command extude face i read is nonmifold

but my problem is to erase the seam

thank you all for your help
stamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 12:33 PM   #2
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

nonmanifold geometry sometimes appears if you mirror wrong. subd especially does not like to have a useless vertice (like one that is only connected to 2 edges in poly proxy mode. as for the seam - there is an relatively easy solution to it:

the tangets at the edge needs to be flat at the seam. instead of modeling exactly one half, model more than one half. create a half, and extrude the edges in the middle exactly to the other side. now if your half of the model looks good with the extra faces you can delete them, mirror geometry (i suggest you do that in poly mode) and merge afterwards the verts. it should be nice and seamless if you merged the verts and if you had all the verts exactly in the middle. easy way to put them in the middle is to select them, move and grid snap along e.g. x-axis - and then move back there they bolong to.

hope that helps some - and of course there is always other methods to do it ...
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.