Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-07-2003, 11:12 PM   #1
Cyborg Corp
Registered User
 
Cyborg Corp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shanghai/Pittsburgh
Posts: 263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default image plane

I try importing an image plane in side view by going "View<image plane<Import Image but when i select the file i get this in the output window:
"IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/My Pictures/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/My Pictures/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
"
this is what i want to load and it wont let me...its been doing this for all my image planes lately and i cant load any...any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
MSN: cyborg_corporation@hotmail.com
AIM: RavagingOrc
ICQ: 49041947
Cyborg Corp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 11:15 PM   #2
Cyborg Corp
Registered User
 
Cyborg Corp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shanghai/Pittsburgh
Posts: 263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is what i get when i try it by texturing it with a nurbs plane
"IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/My Pictures/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/My Pictures/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Documents and Settings/Everyone Else/My Documents/maya/projects/Bird/sourceimages/sketch.jpg.
"
__________________
MSN: cyborg_corporation@hotmail.com
AIM: RavagingOrc
ICQ: 49041947
Cyborg Corp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 11:19 PM   #3
^^TwEeK^^
Registered User
 
^^TwEeK^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

try opening it with paint brush and saving it as TIF...and use the tif file in maya
__________________
- TwEeK
^^TwEeK^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 11:28 PM   #4
Cyborg Corp
Registered User
 
Cyborg Corp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shanghai/Pittsburgh
Posts: 263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you are my savior!:bow: :bow: :bow: Let me sell you my soul! :bow: :bow: :yipee: :yipee: thanks!
__________________
MSN: cyborg_corporation@hotmail.com
AIM: RavagingOrc
ICQ: 49041947
Cyborg Corp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 11:31 PM   #5
^^TwEeK^^
Registered User
 
^^TwEeK^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

uh.....................o.k :saywhat: :saywhat: :saywhat: :saywhat: :saywhat: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
__________________
- TwEeK
^^TwEeK^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 03:12 AM   #6
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Another thing that i do that is wonderful because i never have any problems no matter what format i use.. is i make a lambert, then click on the thing beside color, push file.. then browse to my refrence image. This puts it to the lambert. Then i just make my plane and apply it to that.. sometimes the image on the lambert requires a 90degree turn.. but thats easy.
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 03:30 AM   #7
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i think that has sumthing to do with the compression method of the jpg
u can always try resaving it in photoshop or sumthing
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 03:50 AM   #8
^^TwEeK^^
Registered User
 
^^TwEeK^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

M-I also just use a plane, i find it just easier to use and manipulate
__________________
- TwEeK
^^TwEeK^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 03:51 AM   #9
Cyborg Corp
Registered User
 
Cyborg Corp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shanghai/Pittsburgh
Posts: 263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I *did* try the lambert method but it still didnt work with the JPEG
__________________
MSN: cyborg_corporation@hotmail.com
AIM: RavagingOrc
ICQ: 49041947
Cyborg Corp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 03:57 AM   #10
Nataliia
Registered User
 
Nataliia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Maxwell AFB, AL
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HAL, I got that same error when I tried to use Progressive jpgs. I changed them to basic and have had no problems since. But it could just be me I have had some rather odd things happen when I follow my "wonder what this does?" instincts.
Nataliia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Mec Celeste - Original SM Gallery Image by Diego Ruiz Diaz Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 22-12-2010 05:58 AM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
Yellow AudiTT - Original SM Gallery Image by Kindred David Simply Maya Gallery 0 02-12-2010 01:26 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.