Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-07-2003, 10:52 AM   #1
bluka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question network rendering

is it available without another full version of maya instaled on another comp?

can I combine in network rendering PC and mac?

thanks, sorry for my english
bluka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 04:44 PM   #2
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hmmmmm...........I have no Idea on that one. I have never tried it myself. The AW website may have something on this. Sorry I couldnt help.....
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 05:30 PM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

you can have unlimited render machines. they only need to be in the same subnet. you dont need extra licenses. the maya complete renderer will even render unlimited files, if the render server that started the render is unlimited. i am not 100% sure, but i believe the one machine starting the render job needs to have a license.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 05:37 PM   #4
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thats cool. I need to get another computer and start a network render.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 12:21 AM   #5
jmcquee1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i've got a few machines on my network that i want to set up to network render.. any tutorials out there that can show me how?

i have 5.0 unlimited

-jared
jmcquee1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 12:59 AM   #6
Cyborg Corp
Registered User
 
Cyborg Corp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shanghai/Pittsburgh
Posts: 263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think you need programs, which often cost a couple hundred dollars. Here's some names:
Render Max (www.rendercorp.com)
Lemon (www.ice.org/~martin)
Muster (www.vvertex.com)
Rush (www.3dsite.com/people/erco/rush)
Load Sharing (www.platform.com)

Hope that helped
__________________
MSN: cyborg_corporation@hotmail.com
AIM: RavagingOrc
ICQ: 49041947
Cyborg Corp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 01:07 AM   #7
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

no i think maya can do netwok renders by default:


from the maya help file:

1
From the Maya window, select Render > (Save) Distributed Render. The Save/Render window displays.
2
Enter a file name for the temporary scene file that Maya will save and use to render and click Save/Render. The Dispatcher and Submit Job windows display.
(If the Submit Job window is not displayed, in the Dispatcher window, select Jobs > Submit.)
3
In the Submit Job window, set the following options:
Name The name of the rendering job.
Start The first frame that you want to render.
End The last frame that you want to render.
Step The increment between frames that you want to render.
Order The order to render frames, either incremental (first to last), decremental (last to first), or binary descent (the middle frame is rendered first, then the middle of each half, and so on, until all frames are rendered).
Pool The group of computers you want to render on. To render on all computers on your network, select WholeSystem.
Scheduling Priority The order that your job will render relative to other jobs. A job with a high priority (for example, 100) will render before a job with a low priority (for example, 0).

4
Click Submit. The job is listed in the bottom section of the Dispatcher window. The animation will render on all of the computers in the pool.
5
To submit additional jobs, in the Dispatcher window, select Jobs > Submit and follow step 3.
For more information on Dispatcher and rendering on several UNIX computers, see "dispatcher" in the Maya Rendering Utilities online documentation.
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.