Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-07-2003, 10:17 PM   #1
G-Style
Registered User
 
G-Style's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default whats g.i. joe?

i've seen the name a lot, but i cant really find anything in a search for it
__________________
maya user
G-Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 10:31 PM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

www.pixho.com

you can get it from there..and it's basically Face GI rendering witch is really good in render times

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2003, 02:11 PM   #3
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

GI_Joe simulates Global Illumination (GI) by putting a sphere of spot or directional lights around your scene. There are quite a few threads on this in the forum so you might want to check through the topics of older posts (if you can't find it via search, choose to view all threads "from the beginning" at the bottom of the page and you can glance through the topics). This thread should get you started if you decide to install it and try it out:

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...&threadid=3533
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2003, 04:27 PM   #4
G-Style
Registered User
 
G-Style's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how do i install this thing? it looks pretty good
__________________
maya user
G-Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2003, 05:04 PM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Follow the instructions that come with it.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2003, 05:35 PM   #6
G-Style
Registered User
 
G-Style's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i've tried that a few times..maybe its something in doing wrong

does it work with 5.0?
__________________
maya user
G-Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2003, 06:23 PM   #7
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Yes, it should work fine. Do a search on "GI_Joe" and you'll find various threads, including some with regards to installing it.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2003, 08:58 PM   #8
jafounet
Registered User
 
jafounet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South of France
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this texte is coming from Emmanuel Campin aka PIXho
GIJOE install


Installation:

- Unzip the GI_joe.zip and copy the mel and the scene file (GIJoe.lights) into your script directory.
Copy the GIJoe_icon.bmp into the 'icons' directory of the install directory of Maya (i.e.: drive:\AW\extras\icons)

- If I get better day after day with Mel, I assure you I'm still the same worm in maths, so you still have to edit (with any good text editor (UltraEdit or Textpad) the mel script and search the string 'your_script_directory_path/GIJoe.lights' (located in line 57)
Replace the existing path by your own script path (ex: d:/Maya/scripts/GIJoe.lights)

- Start a Maya session, and open the script editor, then type source GI_Joe. Press [enter]
Retype GI_Joe and press [enter] to execute the script.
You can then drag the GI_Joe into your shelf and select the GIJoe_icon as shelf icon.


I tried it and it works wall.
jafounet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 11:25 PM   #9
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My personal opinion is that a volume light turned down works better.

but that's just me
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 05:07 AM   #10
Russell
Registered User
 
Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 370
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can you use volume light for a radiosity type effect?

Russell
__________________
Russell Bolding
CEO/Founder - Russelltopia Studios
Web:http://www.russelltopia.com
Email:russbo@russelltopia.com
Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 06:29 PM   #11
donrodman3
 
Posts: n/a
Angry File not found is gonna send me crazy on this GI_Joe.mel

Hi everyone i am really really ennoyed!
I have tried everything! ive checked loads of different sites about this discussion but still need help.
Okay heres the situation; i have copied the GI_Joe.mel and the GIJoe.lights into to same folder in C:\Users\[my computer name]\maya\scripts and in the GI_Joe.mel i have opened it up and typed in (where im supposed to) on the 57th line.

= "C:\Users\[Computer name]\maya\scripts\GIJoe.lights";

So i save it and then oen autodesk maya. i type in the script editor (mel section not python section) GI_Joe; aand then i click 'execute'. it then pops up the GUI system meu asking for how many lightss i want etc etc. i go ahead and click 'Go create' and guess what? i get an error saying 'Error: File not found'

What the hell am i doing wrong!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 07:13 PM   #12
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Try using forward slashes in the line you edited. This thread may help you:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=165394

You could also just use real GI in Mentalray instead of faking it with GI Joe. Either can take some time to render whne you start upping values.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 11:15 AM   #13
donrodman3
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Thanks alot for the link and your help i will try that right now, also the real GI does it cost money? do i download it from somewhere?
thanks for your reply i would greatly appreciateit if you repplied again lol thank you...

i have just wrote in...
C:/Users/[computername]/Documents/maya/scripts/GIJoe.lights
i have changed all of the slahes to '/' now im loading up maya.

i have just typed GI_Joe in the mel script and the GUI pops up...
i click 'go create' and.....
grrrrrrr it still says 'Error: File not found' what the hell am i doing wrong!!??!?!!?

i dont know what im doing wrong but can you please tell me more about this GI in mentalray please.
Also anyone please try and help me.
  Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.