Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-07-2003, 10:15 PM   #1
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default unwrapping problems

i binded, weighted and animated a character... then afterwards i unwrapped a part of his body and now when i scroll through the animation... the part that i unwrapped moves around.... is there any way to stop that without detaching the skin and re-doing everything
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 10:45 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

did you apply a texture?

You may need to apply a texture reference object.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 10:56 PM   #3
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah i applied a texture.... and it keeps moving around... i just want to know how to lock it so it doesn't do that... there is no problem with it before i rig and animate the character....
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 10:59 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

just to clarify, is it a 3D texture? If so, you'd definitely need to make a texture reference object.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 11:30 PM   #5
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

umm yes it is... it's a skin texture for my character.... and how would i apply a texture reference object?
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 11:38 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It's been a while, but if I remember correctly, you select the model, shift select the material and under the Rendering module, select Texturing > Create Texture Reference Object. I'll try to figure it out after work if that's not correct. You could also look it up in the F1 help if that's not right.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2003, 12:13 AM   #7
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tried it and it doesn't stop the texturing from moving =/
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2003, 12:23 AM   #8
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

are you projecting a 3d texture onto a surface?
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2003, 12:32 AM   #9
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

maybe this will help.... here's a screenshot at frame 1 and one at frame 5.... now this guy had already been weighted and animated.... but i unwrapped his ears again afterwards... then this started happening.... notice the unwrapped mesh on the right side...
Attached Thumbnails
 
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2003, 02:17 AM   #10
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

from your screens, it doesn't look like it's a 3D texture at all. If so, then a Texture Reference Object is not the solution. I'm not sure why that would be happening except in the case of projection texturs perhaps?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2003, 05:19 AM   #11
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

That's what I was thinkin too Mike...

Maybe you need to parent the 2d placement node to the geomery?

Try F1, and see if there is anything that might help you regarding texture "swiming".
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.