Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-08-2003, 06:34 AM   #1
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Particle render

I want to render my particles with the software window(they are streaks). Do I have to use the hardware renderer, or will the software work???
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 12:55 PM   #2
mumbojumbo_13
Subscriber
 
mumbojumbo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

nah you have to hardware render streaks
--
you can only software render cloud, tube or blobby surface particles
__________________
Thanks for wasting your time reading this line.
mumbojumbo_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 03:36 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Thanks mumbo!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 06:43 PM   #4
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Awwww.....Crap. Ok, That sucks. How do I have something going through the particles. Do I have to composite it with zdepth or something. As you can see, I am very new to this.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 11:59 PM   #5
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Can you explain your shot a little bit to us in regards to what you are meaning when you say "going through"?

Thanks!

..and btw, don't be affraid, or reluctant to use the hardware renderer.
It works better than most folks think, and because of its' hardware-dependant nature, it can be EXTREMELY fast at rendering.

Once, I had a 6000 particle 20 sec shot that Maya just banged right out in less than 10 minutes or so, WITH 3-pass rendering turned on.
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 02:48 PM   #6
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Well, It was just a test, with a ball running through a lot of streaked particles, with them bouncing off and such.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 03:31 PM   #7
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Oh, no prob m8

First, add your ball to it's own render layer.
Add your particles to another render layer.

Then, render a pass of just the ball.

Then, in the Hypershade, grab the "Use Background" shader, and apply that to your ball.

Then in the hardware render globals, make sure you have "geometry mask" turned ON.
And also set your hardware render globals to your scenes frame length, and choose an output file type.
(I use tiff or targa)
Also, check that your frame SIZE is correct in there as well.

Then in the hardware render buffer window, runn a pass of your scene, and you will notice that your ball is invisible.
(not really invisible, it just matches the background)

Render out a pass of your particles.

Then in a compositing program like After Effects etc. simply import your ball frames and your particle frames, and layer your particle frames OVER your ball frames.

Most compositors are set up to prompt you if you would like to import your footage that contains an alph channel as:
-Premiltiplied (with color)
-Straight (unmatted)
-Alpha only
-Best guess

..in this case you will want to choose Straight... (I believe)

...sorry, my machine died on me last night, and I won't have Maya for 2 more months untill I can afford a new machine
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 07:30 PM   #8
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Cool man. Thanks for the help. I will try that out. Its a good thing I bought after effects then eh.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 09:33 PM   #9
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Cool
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.