Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-08-2003, 10:05 PM   #1
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Question Help with birail

i'm trying to make my first surface using birail but when i've selected all the curves it i can't see a surface even though outliner is telling me it's there.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2003, 10:09 PM   #2
Blinn
Registered User
 
Blinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

make sure the ends of your profile curves are snapped to the rails. i had this problem too.
__________________
________

- Jacob
Blinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 12:38 AM   #3
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The best way to do it is hold the c key down when creating your profile curves so they snap to the rails as blinn said.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 01:04 AM   #4
bernhard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria - St. Pölten
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb check this out..

Hello !!!

well, I´ve posted a thread a few days ago with the same problem. adldesigner was really nice, and he explained all the stuff very detailed, so check this out:

http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...light=bernhard

best wishes,
bernhard :bgreen:
__________________
contact me via MSN: rieder@utanet.at
bernhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 10:26 AM   #5
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

there are not touching

The birail is a very picky thing - also make sure the history is deleted on the curve....also a good guess would be that you have once before made a surface, but deleted and remade..

If this is the case then yes it is VERY fussy - It is almost quicker to make a new curve over the old one and then delete the old one, I have had this problem many times.

But the first thing I would check is that your curves are touching, your curves match points (rebuild curve) and that the curve direction go the same way (curve direction - reverse)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 09:39 PM   #6
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Thanks, it was becuase i hadn't snapped the curves.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.