Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-08-2003, 01:23 AM   #1
bernhard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria - St. Pölten
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Problem --> Texturing Nurbs Object ?

Hello friends !

I have some troubles with texturing my nurbs object.
Normally I select the nurbs surface I want to paint, --> than I use the Texturing-->3D Paint Tool. And I paint with the Artisan tool some colored arrows or pieces of surfaces to see more if I will open the texture in photoshop. Yeah, and in photoshop I create more layers, to paint my real textures, you know.

What I do in Maya:

1.surface:
I create the texture with the artisan tool, and I choose 512x512 pixel for it.

2nd. surface:
I do the same

Problem:
Of course the textures of the surfaces are not matching right, because the second surface is much bigger than the first one.


HOW CAN I GET THE REAL RESOLUTION OF THE SURFACES FOR THE TEXTURE WITHOUT CONVERTING INTO POLYS ?
AND HOW CAN I AVOID SUCH THINGS OR MAKE IT BETTER ?


here is the image to see my problem clear and detailed:




As you can see, there is a big texture problem.
it would be great if someone could help me,

thank you all for every little help,
bernhard
__________________
contact me via MSN: rieder@utanet.at
bernhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 02:17 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You'll have to either adjust the isoparms where it's stretching or adjust your texture to compress in that area.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 03:25 PM   #3
bernhard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria - St. Pölten
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question really donīt know

Hello Mike !

Puhh, that sounds easy, but I really donīt know what you are talking about - I have not enough experience in texturing with nurbs.

The Isoparms are influencing the texture on the model ?
And how shoudl I adjust my texture , in maya or the graphic tool like photoshop ?

..... hmm, well sorry mike, .....or maybe there is some tut out there where I can learn more, but just right now, I have no clue how I can do that.


thank you soo much for your help,
bernhard
__________________
contact me via MSN: rieder@utanet.at
bernhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 04:21 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

The UVs of a nurbs surface are attached to the CVs of the surface. Unlike polys, UV coordinates can not be moved away from relation tot he CV coordinates. If you have some areas of the model that have isoparms very close together and some with isoparms further apart, the ones that are further apart will stretch the texture out, compared to the ones that are closer together.

So, you would have to either adjust the Isoparms location, by moving Hulls around, or in PHotoshop, compress that section of the texture so it isn't stretching. Doing that, however, can affect the image quality of the texture.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 05:39 PM   #5
bernhard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria - St. Pölten
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question isoparms with rebuild function ?

Okay Mike, well I think that I have understand you now.
Hmm, well, if I will rebuild all my surfaces (with the rebuild function) than all isoparm should bee the same I think, or ?

Hmm, well, I think that the compression of the texture in photoshop isnīt really easy to handle.

And anothter thing I donīt know:
Isnīt there a possibility to set manually the size of the texture image ?

What I canīt understand: Isnīt there any way, to get a rollover from the surface I want with the optimal size I need automaticly from Maya ?

I always think that there should be a possibility to get a kind of wirfeframe from the surface I want to texture - rolled out of a 2d quader paper, and that I can import this one into Photoshop ?


The only reason for that texture problem is, that I canīt attach some nurbs surfaces, because they are trimmed before. yeah, and well, I donīt really know what I can do now, or better: what I should do !!!!!


big mike, thx for your help - you are the best,
bernhard


__________________
contact me via MSN: rieder@utanet.at
bernhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 07:23 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

one word: polygons. lol
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŪ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.