Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-08-2002, 02:30 PM   #1
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default Performance issues on 2 GHZ!!!

i have a p4 2gig(512k cache) the new one ... the northwood get it..?.. i run it on a intel 850emv2 mother moard with 256mb rdram.... and an ati all in wonder 32 mb 4x graphics board and lot of highend components .. when i add an image planes on all views and when i switch to single perspective the navigation inthe world (maya evironment) seems to move slow.... i am a geek my self but i cant seem to figure ou the problem
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2002, 03:14 PM   #2
blip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ...

If you're running Windows XP there is no 3D accelleration for the ATI all-in-wonder 32meg card due to the lack of correct drivers. Least that's what I found with mine.
blip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2002, 06:11 PM   #3
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You could try skipping the image plane and use a nurbs plane, you can assign your images to that. The only slow down i have when working with image planes is when i reduce the opacity and it's only slight.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2002, 10:20 AM   #4
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

^^ what mrmacca says. image plane are a pain in the ass and get slow on a lot of systems... I've always used nurbs planes aswell with no hassles.
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2002, 06:58 AM   #5
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Saiyan Says: take the 32MB ATI and smash it with a hammer....considering the system you have......it should at least have a Geforce4 ti4400 in it.....

Even a 64MB card would see some improvements....and maybe add another 256MB RAM
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2002, 10:28 PM   #6
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol.. I was going to say somthing along those lines too but thought it would be a tad mean. that new ATI r300 sure looks nice though.. read something about it haveing a plugin for maya which lets the r300 take care of rendering instead of your cpu.. would love to give it a try though I'm guessing the new nvidia nv30 is gonna blow it out the water anyway. bah pchardware gives me headaches sometimes
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2002, 04:10 AM   #7
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I think I meant to say it in a different way....but I was really tired trying to learn Visual C++ atm.....any help would be appreciated

Seriously though......all those system specs and a low end video card......just not right.....just asking for a bottle neck is all
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2002, 04:19 AM   #8
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
std::cout << "Dave says learning C is a silly thing to do get moding ur forum\n";
}

PM me i have some VTM's laying about you might like

David

(LOOP (FORMAT T "~%Dave also says learning Lisp is even sillier."))
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2002, 04:24 AM   #9
MikeAllen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Try this little-known trick

Ok. I heard on some cards you should create a new view...for example a persp2 and then try it again....it worked on some of the students at the Gnomon School of Visual Effects last year.
MikeAllen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.