Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-08-2003, 02:12 PM   #1
lemonaded
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default selecting a group

(changed from pivot q, found the answer)

hi, i'ma newbie with maya and have tons of questions but here's a start. thanks in advance for any solutions!
when i have a group of objects, how can i select the whole thing without going into graph editor? when i click on the grouped object, i select individual element within the group and not the whole thing. is graph editor the only way? selecting them by drawing a square around the grouped object isn't ideal since i don't know if everything is selected. any suggestions would be appreciated. thanks again

Last edited by lemonaded : 09-08-2003 at 02:22 PM.
lemonaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 02:25 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

press Up on the keyboard.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 03:15 PM   #3
cujo
Registered User
 
cujo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

also
If you have a lot of groups you can goto heiarchy mode
( it's right next to object and component mode buttons )
Joe
__________________
rasterfarian
cujo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 03:34 PM   #4
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Damn Im stupid. I was always typing stuff in like "select eye_Group1;" and stuff. Hehe. Thanks for the tips guys.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 03:40 PM   #5
lemonaded
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wow that's so handy. thanks alot!
lemonaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 03:59 PM   #6
Vampus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

We can see who went through the tuts and who didn't
  Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.