Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-09-2003, 09:22 PM   #1
ereitz
Subscriber
 
ereitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany/Canada
Posts: 545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Connecting shaders and projections

I'm texturing a model with multiple projections and a smooth proxy. Somewhere along the line I changed from one shader to another on a projection and it shows up fine in the viewport but won't render.

First it rendered nothing at all and then I deleted the original shader and then it rendered the default lambert. Still in my viewport the model is fully textured and when I right click on the texture in the hypershade and select objects with that texture it selects the faces on the model. In my viewport it showing on both the proxy and the smooth version correctly.

Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Check out the subsurfacescattering on my tongue...

<a href="http://www.reitzmachine.com">www.reitzmachine.com</a>
ereitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 09:24 PM   #2
ereitz
Subscriber
 
ereitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany/Canada
Posts: 545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here's the model with the faces of the projection selected.

I suppose somehow there are some nodes not connected that must be connected. If I can get it to display it should also render. Right???
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Check out the subsurfacescattering on my tongue...

<a href="http://www.reitzmachine.com">www.reitzmachine.com</a>
ereitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 10:54 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I'm afraid I have no idea. I don't mess with shaders too often.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 03:35 AM   #4
ereitz
Subscriber
 
ereitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany/Canada
Posts: 545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well - it did have to do with connecting nodes - I'm not entirely sure how it works but what I did was I deleted the smooth version and applied new textures to each projection. I think that somehow during the process of mapping I had put a new texture on a projection halfway through and the nodes started overlapping somehow. Anyway - I wasn't able to figure out how to fix it with the tangle I made but I was able to start over without losing the projections, uv maps or textures so 99 percent of the work was saved.

You can look at the results here:
Knight WIP thread
__________________
Check out the subsurfacescattering on my tongue...

<a href="http://www.reitzmachine.com">www.reitzmachine.com</a>
ereitz is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.