Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-09-2003, 03:31 PM   #1
juice690
Registered User
 
juice690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy automatic uv mapping question

Hi, i'm using the automatic uv mapping technique on the face of my model but when in the uv editor window i > select edges, then click on the of one of the mapped pieces edges it doesnt show me the corrosponding edge i'm supposed to sew it onto?
Anyone know why isn't it showing up?

Thanks for any help
juice690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 04:03 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

only reason I can think of that a corresponding edge doesn't show up is because there isn't one.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 04:16 PM   #3
juice690
Registered User
 
juice690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi mike, ive selected all the faces of the ear on my model then > view selected it, folllowed by automatic mapping, so all the pieces show up in the uv editor, why dont they have corresponding edges?

Thanks for the feeback.
Would a picture help?
juice690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 05:20 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It could be that the edge you are selecting is an exterior edge of the UV map and doesn't have a corresponding edge within the group that was auto mapped.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 01:20 PM   #5
juice690
Registered User
 
juice690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive tried selecting most of the edges but none of them have corresponding ones? Heres what i'm doing :-

Right click > Select faces, hold the left button and drag over the whole area i want to uv map, > view selected then i >Edit polygons > Texture > Automatic uv mapping.

Do the settings in the automtic uv mapping menu have to be set in any particular way, on mine its on its default setting.

Thanks for any help
juice690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 01:37 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Hmm, sounds weird. Maybe you could post a picture. The only thing that comes to mind is perhaps all your faces are somehow not attached to the ones adjacent to it, and you need to merge all the vertices with a distance of .001 so only the vertices at the same location are affected.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 02:29 PM   #7
juice690
Registered User
 
juice690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default uv mapping?

Heres a pic
Attached Thumbnails
 
juice690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 02:34 PM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

the purpose for using auto mapping is to make things EASIER. lol

You might want to try cylindrical or something. Maybe grab all the faces except the ones at the poles and cylindrical those, and then planar the top and bottom?

If it's seperating each and every face when you auto-map, it's not helping much.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.