Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-09-2003, 11:33 PM   #1
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is this a good Video Card Choice?

I'm out looking for a new card and somebody suggested this:

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...102-307&depa=1

aprt from the price, what else is bad?

Thanks

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 10:20 AM   #2
3dtionale
Registered User
 
3dtionale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think it's the PRICE!!!Why not try 3dlabs Wildcat VP series?Priced just fair and rocks in performance.
3dtionale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 01:36 PM   #3
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

because I heard the wildcats are bad in hardware rendering....maybe it's falce but who knows...

and thanks for replying... at least somebody did ( )

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2003, 10:24 AM   #4
aldudeau
Subscriber
 
aldudeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 360
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool card, pricey but cool.....i wish i had one of them.
__________________
MSN: mizin_alex@hotmail.com
E-MAIL: mizina@alphalink.com.au
aldudeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:24 PM   #5
splintah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: vienna - austria
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

id go for the quadro fx 500
costs not much
is as fast as fx 3000

hw rendering its not THAT fast
but vievport is real good

i read a benchmark with all the new pro cards
i think its on 3dchips.com
splintah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 02:23 PM   #6
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wow for $839.00 I would expect nothing wrong with it! Thats a crazy price - not worth it IMO
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:59 PM   #7
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The Fire GL X2 256 is ATI's highest performance workstation graphics card. Thats a real workhorse. I've seen it at work at SIGGRAPH last year. Read about it here.

http://www.ati.com/products/fireglx2-256/index.html
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 03:46 AM   #8
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yup, that's why I want it so bad

I'm trying to go for at least a 256MB Video card...

for now, I'll have to wait and I'll get my CPUs first because they are the most expencive and then I'll start saving for this baby!

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2003, 01:51 AM   #9
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Get the Quadro FX500


Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2003, 01:09 AM   #10
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by nirsul
Get the Quadro FX500


Nir
because....?

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2003, 06:31 AM   #11
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It will do the job for a lot less and in some reviews I read that the speed jumps between the FX500 and his stronger bros is not that noticeable.


And you can even have Hardware rendering.(though I have heard it wouldn't yield the same quality as a regular software renderer)

one thing thoguh - it is a bit noisier.

nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com

Last edited by nirsul : 27-10-2003 at 06:36 AM.
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inline video David Members Lounge 5 09-12-2010 11:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.