Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-09-2003, 04:40 AM   #1
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering Problem

I have a scene with a mountan area and a sky.The sky was made from a jpg onto a sphere.So the mountain area sit's inside the sphere and when i rendered it the sky was kind of dark so i then put in a volume light and pre-render looked good but once i rendered it nothing but pitch black shows up.

Im thinking it has to do with the sky and sphere but i was wondering if anyone else has had this problem before.
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 12:58 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

couple of things that might be worth trying:

#1 flip the sphere's normals so that they point inwards
#2 map the sky texture to incandescence channel instead of color channel. The sky will then self illuminate.
#3 try with directional light instead of volume light.
#4 turn off the sphere's shadow casting and receiving.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!

Last edited by kbrown : 11-09-2003 at 01:01 PM.
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 02:29 AM   #3
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cool kbrown, seem like at least one of those might work.Thanks.

I'll try it out once i finish painting my room.
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.