Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-09-2003, 03:51 PM   #1
gorjie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default texture resolution??

i will render a single frame at around 3000 x 2500 pix;
do i have for each textured part of a scene, to assign ,
such resolution if i used bitmap!

how can i calculate the res i need,if i need to render large frame buffer?and so ,how can i determinate which res ,i need for each texture, if i use bmp??

will it depend of the "surface" ,each textured part,take "place " in the scene??
txs in advance!

Last edited by gorjie : 11-09-2003 at 03:54 PM.
gorjie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 04:34 PM   #2
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The textures can be any size. The higher res they are the better they will look, but any additional information inbetween two 'real' texture pixels will be interpolated. Hope this answers your question.
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 07:13 PM   #3
gorjie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default all

all right
txs very much
gorjie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 09:37 AM   #4
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tought i saw a rule somewhere for the interpolation not being blurry that was kinda 300 pixels per 100 pixels of rendered output...but im not sure so switch to ignore me mode on this thread
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 02:36 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I'm not sure if it applies or not, but my current studio is using 32 pixels = 1 foot of texture space.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.