Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-09-2003, 05:30 PM   #1
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Anyone got a G5 yet?

Well this will put the cat amoung the pigeons, but has anyone been using Maya on a G5 yet?

How fast is it and how does it perform?

Also wanna know about the graphics cards the standard one (GeForce FX 5200 Ultra) ain't too bad but if anyone is using a G5 with an ATI 9800 please let me know how that performs as well...

Many thanks!
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 08:07 AM   #2
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dont know about the Macs, dont care. but one of my friends has a Radeon 9800 in his PC, and... well, he needs to buy a new key board from all the drooling.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 09:03 AM   #3
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was going to buy one but quote

"And models start at just $1999."

I decided to buy 3 pcs instead
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 09:48 AM   #4
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ultragames-
Hmmm, interesting. Looks like the 9800 is a good graphics card. Make sure your friend gets a plastic cover for his new keyboard

Kevin-
Well, I am beginning to think that not only do you loathe Macs but that your a bit of a tight-arse git - LOL

Everyone else (especially Mac Users)-
Please let me know what you think of the new Macs. I have a fastish PC but I want a fast Mac too (I make a living using Macs so I have to have one O.K.)
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com

Last edited by gazzamataz : 12-09-2003 at 09:51 AM.
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 10:00 AM   #5
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gazzamataz


Kevin-
Well, I am beginning to think that not only do you loathe Macs but that your a bit of a tight-arse git - LOL
me tight??? no way dude

I just like quality products at a sensible price :p
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 10:53 AM   #6
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just like quality products at a sensible price
Yeah, I know what you mean dude - it pisses me off a bit too. I know Macs are more expensive (why I don't know) but they do seem to be upto speed now. Plus, I like OSX and as I said before I use Macs for me work so I need one.

P.S. I still reckon your a tight-arse You'd need to be with all that curry and larger you get through - LOL
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 02:11 PM   #7
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hey speaking of curry - I just had one a nice vindaloo that me mum brought for me yesterday...dam im sweating like a pig right now but its great
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 03:46 PM   #8
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kevin

You bloody barbarian - a vindaloo no less - I don't think my arse could take that fffffffffffffaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrpppppppppppp!!!

You have now put me in the mood for one - a curry, not a fart session - I normally have a ruby murray on Friday night.

BTW, rumour has it that the new G5s are in fact curry powered, that's why they have got all them ruddy fans in them LOVL!!!
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 05:01 PM   #9
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Lol. "curry" .. :p

*fart*
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 05:15 PM   #10
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dam im sweating like a pig right now but its great
That's all that larger you had last night Kev... christ after all that larger and curry you could be used as a cooling system for a G5... only problem is is that it would probably melt

Oh dear, toilet humour does make me laugh!
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 12:34 AM   #11
Zyk0tiK
Registered User
 
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ya know, i was looking at something. You can actually build a Mac from home, obviously not a "Mac" as that would be copyright but you can build a G5 from home, there is quite a few sites that sell the components. I know a guy who built a G5 himself for about £700, not too bad considering the price you buy them from Apple for.
Zyk0tiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 10:03 AM   #12
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Aren't AMD releasing 64bit processor soon, i think if you like pc it'd be better to wait for that.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 11:13 AM   #13
Zyk0tiK
Registered User
 
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

They are indeed, the Athlon64, Not sure how long the wait will be though.
Zyk0tiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 09:15 PM   #14
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

or the price.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 09:16 PM   #15
Zyk0tiK
Registered User
 
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hehe yeah
Zyk0tiK is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.