Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-09-2003, 07:15 AM   #1
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Extrude Problems :)

Well , I was modeling a human figure, using extrudes for arms and legs.
Now the problem is, that while modeling the hand, I turned the "Keep Faces Together" option off since I wanted the fingers to be separate.
Then I totally forgot about it (DUMB!) and I went on and built the legs.
Only when I tried to smooth the model later did I realise that the Keep Faces Together option was still off, and I should've turned it on before working on the legs.
Well, I went to the history and clicked onthe polyExtrude node and toggled the option off. BUT as shown in the example in the picture, all the transformations and tweaks done to the model went totally berserk.

SO, the question is, is there another way to keep these faces together without having to toggle that option?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 07:56 AM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Form the looks of it, I would just rebuild the model.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 08:50 AM   #3
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh

__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 04:37 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

To try to fix it manually, you'd need to delete all the faces that are inside there, than merge all the vertices of the faces that remain with a small distance, so only those that are near each other merge.

However, I can't say that I really like the method you are using for making a character. I think you'd have better results by making things fairly seperately and then merging them together.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 04:46 PM   #5
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So make separate arms and legs and head and torso and then combine them, huh?
But why?
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 05:45 PM   #6
Zyk0tiK
Registered User
 
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by adldesigner
Form the looks of it, I would just rebuild the model.
aaaaahahahhahhah

dude, that's cruel
Zyk0tiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 05:48 PM   #7
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol
By the way, if anyone is thinking that the picture I attached IS the model I'm working on, ITS NOT!

Thats just something I threw together to explain my problem.
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 05:48 PM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

In order to keep a clean flow of your geometry, if everything starts together, you'd have to work quite a bit to make sure everything was clean where the major pieces meet. You're going to have to do that, anyway, but I find it best to not have to worry about it all throughout the modeling process.

In any case, ifyou use a cube as your starting point, it's best to round it out some, unless of course, you're making a Lego man.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2003, 06:02 PM   #9
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol
No lego-man. And no, I did not start out with a cube

But I get what you're trying to say. I think.

Thanks
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 09:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.