Welcome to SimplyMaya

SimplyMaya.com has been teaching Maya for eleven years. We believe in teaching the fundamental principles of 3D by example. In our online library you will find more than 500 hours of video training.
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-09-2003, 07:16 PM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Lightwave Import to Maya

Does anyone know of any importers to get LWO files into Maya without having to buy PolyTrans or somthing like that?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2003, 08:09 PM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Filmbox. http://www.kaydara.com
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2003, 08:27 PM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hey Danny

What am I looking for on that site? I couldn't foind a Maya LWO plug-in. The FBX Converter doesn't seem to support LWO.

Thanks.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2003, 08:55 PM   #4
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You want to look for the FBX plugin.

You can't use LWO files directly. Instead, you can use FBX files as an intermediate format to get data from LightWave to Maya. From LightWave, export to FBX, then import that FBX file in Maya.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2003, 10:49 PM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

No good. I don't have Lightwave, I just have the files in LWO. Thanks anyway.

Any other sugguestions?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2014 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.