Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-09-2003, 11:11 PM   #1
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Noob .avi file size reduce...

Hi,
I have just created the "Rocket" project from a book tutorial...
Maybe some of u know which one...Savvy..?
Anyway, I noticed that when I tried rendering in .avi - then the speed was all wrong and that it played in 'Full screen' not in the 320x240 that I rendered it in.


I'm wondering? 1./ If there is any way to make the speed (was too slow) work OK for .avi (from my original render)
If not, then what do I have to set in Render Globals for .AVI ?
2./ Also is there a way I can 'tell' The player (WMP) to play in a small window somehow?
3./ And can I compress my file any better than .avi/zip ? Do you need to spend a lot of money to get it compressed into Divx?

Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2003, 11:36 PM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I suggest not to render straight out to .avi from maya.. as you saw what happened to it

Render the scene out in still images and then import them into After Effects and make a movie outta that...


-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2003, 01:14 AM   #3
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay.... Thanks... BTW - The "Speed Issue" [Playing too slow in .avi] Got better the more times it was played?? HuH? (Twilight Zone or what?)

So OK I gotta learn another program now.......OK

After Effects here we come.......
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2003, 02:29 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Sounds to me that your machine was "caching" the data as it was played, so it "appeared" faster the more it was played.

Was the AVI that you made rendered uncompressed?

If so, that might explain the slow/choppy framerate.

...just wondering
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2003, 10:28 AM   #5
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes I just played it in WMPlayer right after rendering it, so it wasn't compressed if that's what you mean.

I was speaking to a friend last night on MSN and he gave me a link to a site that had some sort of (free) DivX software on, but it was getting late and I had to go. I will check it out later (hopefully I had the log switched on)...
I will indeed have a play around with After Effects then try that DivX compression as the file is 20Mb in .avi ....

Is it possible to specify the playback screen size so that it plays in a smaller window by default?
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2003, 10:50 PM   #6
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got a XviD thingy, anyone know what I'm supposed to render to (.avi tiff iff ?) so I can start playing with it?
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 02:44 PM   #7
Chris_H
Subscriber
 
Chris_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sheffield, uk
Posts: 246
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Xvid will render to .avi format.
provides nice image quality after compression, the codec isn't
as widly used as divx though.
__________________
my homepage
Chris_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 02:38 PM   #8
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What file type should I use?

I have come back to this thread because I'm having problems rendering Animations again...
So if I render out my Animation out as still images. - What file type do you suggest. ???
I have After Effects now and am going to try doing something simple just to see if I can get it to work...

Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 03:10 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I usually use .tga files with no problems. Probably shouldn't use .iff, as not all programs have support for it.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 08:58 PM   #10
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cheers Mike....
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2004, 11:13 AM   #11
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Scraggy,

you can also use VirtualDub, and then render your images out in bmp, and in VirtualDub use it as an bmp imagesequence file, and make an compressed avi out of it... e.g. by using the DivX, Xvid or some other codecs...

regards

Strarup
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2004, 07:19 PM   #12
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Strarup, I will have a look on the net now for that "VirtualDub" see if I can get a demo or something.
I did manage to get my animation working in AEffects but couldn't work out how to apply 'effects' to it - I think I may have to create a new layer or something, not had too much time on Maya since before Christmas - am hoping to get more time soon...

But VirtualDub sounds great for rendering it out as is.. will go look now.

Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2004, 08:28 PM   #13
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Scraggy,

VirtualDub is freeware... and can be downloaded here... -->
http://www.virtualdub.org/

e.g. this tutorial on how to use VirtualDub to compress it with DivX... -->
http://www.jhepple.com/support/divxvirtualdub.htm

some other information...
http://www.jhepple.com/virtualdub.htm

just make sure your rendered images from Maya, is in bmp format, and that they have cronolygical numbers...

e.g. file001.bmp file002.bmp .... file999.bmp, and then when you want to open it in VirtualDub use "DIB Imagesequence .bmp" and click on file001.bmp, and then VirtualDub will load all the images as a movie/film... which you then can compress... VirtualDub can also add sound to the movie...

I don't know which soundeditor program you use, but I can suggest you this fine freeware program... "Audacity"... -->
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

if you e.g. want other format's than avi, you can e.g. get this "MPEG-2 Upgrade for VirtualDub" here... -->
http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/

I have heard VirtualDub also should support, Targa, but if is's true I don't know... I can't see it in selected file options... It can maybe be one of those modifications of virtualdub which exist out there on the net...

regards

Strarup
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2004, 12:05 AM   #14
Elemenopee
Subscriber
 
Elemenopee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the HuffyYUV codec is one of my favorites to use. it is a lossless compression codec....so you don't lose any quality ala uncompressed...but you also gain decent compressions with it. Which you then go into VDub and render out using divx or xvid whtaever
__________________
The only constant is change...
Elemenopee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2004, 12:37 AM   #15
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot guys,
I have some free time coming up....(5 Whole days/Nights!) to have a play around with this stuff - I already have VirtualDub and have tried it - I was really happy to read that some people had been making filters! for it - I will search as soon as I have time. - Even though I have access to Premiere and After Effects - I'm still going to check it all out thanks to your posts...

Thanks Guys....

Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.