Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-10-2003, 10:54 PM   #1
Tork
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ghost.

just made a simple ghost. what do you think ? also that GI_Joe script is cool!! :bgreen:
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by Tork : 01-10-2003 at 11:01 PM.
Tork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 12:34 AM   #2
3dgurl
Subscriber
 
3dgurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Cute ^_^
__________________
3dgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 12:44 AM   #3
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

I have a GI_joe script available to download, it's just that the instructions are hard to follow. Could some one write a easy tutorial on how to install?
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:14 AM   #4
Tork
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Unzip the GI_joe.zip and copy the mel and the scene file (GIJoe.lights) into your script directory.
Copy the GIJoe_icon.bmp into the 'icons' directory of the install directory of Maya (i.e.: drive:\AW\extras\icons)

with notepad edit the mel script and search the string 'your_script_directory_path/GIJoe.lights' (located in line 57)
Replace the existing path by your own script path (ex: d:/Maya/scripts/GIJoe.lights) . notice how its / not \. so D:\ would be incorrect , D:/ would be right. the slashes that is.

- Start a Maya session, and open the script editor by going to Window / General Editors / Script Editor. Once script editor is open , goto file / open script. open up the GI_Joe mel script , once its open goto script / execute. Once you have done that , use the command box at the bottom of the screen and type GI_Joe

its case sensitive so GI_Joe

dont take my word for it though, im sure there is a easier way , but whenever i type source GI_Joe it doesnt work. im sure someone here should know why
Tork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 06:02 AM   #5
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Here is the first problem I ran into while following the instructions.

How do I find the icons directory? I can't even find the install directory of maya. You wrote down the same instructions from the site I downloaded the GI_Joe script from. The instructions are too hard for me to follow at this time, sorry.

I can't go any further on this until I get more info on it.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 06:04 AM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I just source it each time I want to use it. I don't use it all that often, so that works for me.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 10:38 AM   #7
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Source it? How do you source GI_Joe ? Don't you have to install it into Maya before you can use it?
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:23 PM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Window > General Editors > Script Editor.

File > Source Script

As long as all the files associated with the MEL are in the same directory, after you source it, just type GI_Joe; in the command line.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:52 PM   #9
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just type source GI_Joe.mel command line. or maybe without the .mel

I cant remember and it's not open to test. What a useless post this is :/
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 02:02 PM   #10
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

These handy instructions for GI Joe, which Icarus kindly wrote for me, worked well; perhaps they might help.
Attached Files
File Type: txt gijoeinstructions.txt (3.3 KB, 21 views)
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.