Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-10-2003, 09:38 PM   #1
pulp2310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How can i use MEL scripts?

Hi!

I have just found two nice MEL-Scripts here in the forum.

I downloaded them, but don`t known how to use them.

Must I just click and drop them from my desktop into the maya frame?

I did that but i can`t see any icon where i can use thm now.

So could anyone tell what i did wrong?


thx a lot!
pulp2310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 12:17 AM   #2
dockode
Registered User
 
dockode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HEHE... it's me again.

I'm not sure what kind of computer you have but on a windows xp pc you would put scripts in a folder located:

C:\Documents and Settings\dockode\My Documents\maya\scripts

Replace User with your windows account name.

Or you just do the next step and browse for the script wherever you saved it from within the Open Script Menu Option.

Next you would go into Maya. Under the Script Editor you would Open Script and then you find your script and open it. You would hit ctrl+Enter to run the script.

At least that is how I think you do it. If I'm wrong someone please correct me.
__________________
...and that is how I saved the world.

Last edited by dockode : 22-10-2003 at 12:19 AM.
dockode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 01:02 AM   #3
pulp2310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hm....
i opened the script editor, opend the script from my desktop.
so the code of the script appears in the upper part of the script editor.
ok so far...
then i marked everything und moved it by holding the middle mouse button in the shelf bar.
there my new MEL icon appears.

in draw my curve, aktivate it and pressed the new mel icon...but nothing hapend,-))
what is the fault?

by the way: the script should create a tube out of a curve, i have downloaded that here in the forum.

Last edited by pulp2310 : 22-10-2003 at 01:42 PM.
pulp2310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 01:30 AM   #4
dockode
Registered User
 
dockode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im not sure then... sounds like you did everything right to me...
i'll see what i can dig up
__________________
...and that is how I saved the world.
dockode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MEL headache! happymat27 Members Lounge 5 05-12-2010 09:43 AM
MEL headache!! happymat27 Mel Scripts & Programming 1 03-12-2010 04:41 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.