Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-10-2003, 01:11 AM   #1
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation IK Handel Problems

Right, I have a skeleton which has skin bound to it. I am now trying to put an IK skeleton on it, by clicking the joints. When I do this, however the arm distorts and twists.

What am I doing wrong?!

_LIVID
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 05:14 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

the skeleton needs to be in its bound pose.

You might also need to Freeze transformations on your bones, if you mirrored them. If you do that, you may need to change their local rotation axis.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 09:20 AM   #3
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have looked at the skeleton and have found the problem (I think). Solving it is a different matter.

.... How do I explain this?! When I click on one of the joins in the arm the axis lines are pointing in a strange direction. When I was making the are I twisted the skeleton and moved it ect.

P.S. On another note, I have Unlimited 5, is there an update for that or do I have to wait for 6?

P.P.S. I need a compositer, can anyone recomend one?

_LIVID
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog

Last edited by Tim_LIVID : 22-10-2003 at 10:19 AM.
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 12:39 PM   #4
Nataliia
Registered User
 
Nataliia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Maxwell AFB, AL
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Tim_LIVID
When I click on one of the joins in the arm the axis lines are pointing in a strange direction.
Mike's already suggested the solution - Freeze Transformations

Originally posted by Tim_LIVID
P.S. On another note, I have Unlimited 5, is there an update for that or do I have to wait for 6?
Not to be horrid, but why not learn this one before worrying about moving on to the next version? I know several folks here who use 4 (and some who are probably on older versions).

Originally posted by Tim_LIVID
P.P.S. I need a compositer, can anyone recomend one?
_LIVID
Depends on what you want it for, primarily. My computer is set for mostly gaming, with some maya and word processing thrown in. What my upgrade priorities would be isn't necessarily what a professional modeller's priorities would be.
Nataliia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 10:42 PM   #5
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I see what your saying, i did the freeze transformations on the arm and it still distorted.

2nd, I was just curious. I agree with you that I have to learn one program before looking to anything else.

I also need a program to blend two vids into one.

Cheers for your time guys!

_LIVID
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2003, 11:46 PM   #6
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there anything else I can apart from Freeze Transformations?!

_LIVID
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2003, 03:35 AM   #7
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Change the local rotation axes as Mike suggested.
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2003, 10:05 AM   #8
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How is that done, do I have to manualy rotate every join till the axis are in the right position?

_LIVID
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2003, 12:19 AM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default



http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...ght=local+axis
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2003, 12:33 AM   #10
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There is an interesting script I have been trying out that helps with joint rotation, but you still have to align things by hand to get it absolutely right; Mike's tutorial is very good on that as it shows it step by step.

If you want to try the orient joint script you can find it in the download section here;

http://jonhandhisdog.com/
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2003, 01:54 AM   #11
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have clicked Mike's link and it's not working. Do I need points to get this tutorial

_LIVID
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2003, 01:58 AM   #12
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

yes
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2003, 01:59 AM   #13
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nuts, how many points should I get?

_LIVID
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.