Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-10-2003, 01:30 AM   #1
robchis
Registered User
 
robchis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Lights turning off for particular cameras?

This problem has me stupified.

I have a camera and it's aiming target both on motion path curves.

I also have a spotlight with volume lighting on.

During the travel of the camera and it's aim target, it moves around the spotlight and it's volume cone.

For some reason, the light completely turns off. No light, no shadows, no light fog. It stays off for 15 frames, then comes back on again.

Yet, when I use or create another perspective camera, with all the same attributes of the one on the motion path, and place it at a similar angle and point, and at the same frame, the light is rendered as on and normal.

But when I place that created camera and it's aim target on the same motion paths with the same keyframes, the light turns itself off again.

Why would one perspective camera show the light being on, and another perspective camera show the light as being off, when the only thing different between the two is the exact angle and point of the cameras?
robchis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2003, 03:29 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

strange
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2003, 03:11 AM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

If I'm not mistaken, cameras and lights with fog don't always work so well when they intersect. Check to see if your camera is entering the cone of the light during those 15 frames.

If you MUST have the camera go through the light fog, I sugguest making a particle system of fog, and shine a spot light on it instead of light fog.

Kind of a pain, but it should work. Then again, my theory about your problem might not be right.

Let us know.

-dann
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2003, 03:26 AM   #4
robchis
Registered User
 
robchis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just discovered something this morning about the problem. I've been using 2D motion blur during the sequence. When the blur is on, the light turns off for those 15 frames (it turns off twice, both for 15 frame durations...). I turned off the 2D motion blur and.... the light came back on!

Looking into it right now...

Oh, and Dan... the camera actually doesn't intersect with the cone of volume light during the "blackouts".
robchis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2003, 01:05 AM   #5
robchis
Registered User
 
robchis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep. 2D motion blur was the culprit. So obvious, eh?

I call that a bug.
robchis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2003, 08:42 PM   #6
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

A bug? Maybe not. Try 3D motion blur instead. Also, why are you rendering using created PERSPECTIVE cameras? My suggestion would be to create an actual camera, not a default Maya viewable camera (persp, side, front, top).

Another thing that usually works when I have rendering issues is to create a whole new scene, import the old scene into it, create a new camera and render. Can't explain why that works, but it does every time.

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.