Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-12-2003, 02:22 PM   #1
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Chain Script

As I got a neat script for making 'coily' cords/cables - I wonder? Is there one for creating chains? not animating - just making them.

Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 02:56 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Well, my createDynChain script creates animating chains (out of toruses) but you could remove the control stuff leaving you with just the chain. You can find the script here: http://www.simplymaya.com/download_p...id=29&type=mel
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:29 PM   #3
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks

Thanks Kbrown, will have a go at that, it's for my Dog (In the W.I.P. Forum) I really do wan't to animate it if possible at a later date... [When I learn how to Rig etc etc etc] so that's 'just the ticket' thanks

Struggling with the model at the moment, paws and eyes have me baffled.

Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 06:00 PM   #4
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default :D

Hi,
I thought I may have problems working it out, but it's fine -
Works great - I'm just wodering if there's an easier what to make sure my CV's are equally spaced along the curve than measuring by eye.... Oh yes and what does the "Optimize rigid solver" do?

Sometimes I notice the links are not connected at the "ends" of the curve, but I guess that's beacuse I haven't got the spacing of CV's correct - is that so?

Thanks again - Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 08:20 PM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Well, as this script is meant primarily for animating chains, I have not payed much attention to how the chain is created in the initial stage. You could try to rebuild the curve uniform before running the script...

Internally the script works something like this:
- create a straight duplicate with equal length of the original curve.
- create the chain links along the straight curve (easier this way) and point constrain them to each other
- hook up the controlling and dynamic stuff
- move the CVs (actually the control cubes) of the straight curve to match the original curve. This moves the chain links too as they are connected to the curve

If the initial curve is funky and the span lengths are varying, the chain will look odd. But if you hit play, the chain settles down after a while as the spring forces even out. If you're happy with this "pose" you can stop the animation and select Solvers > Initial State > Set For All Dynamic. Now when you hit rewind the chain will keep it's "pose" until you hit play again.

The "Optimize rigid solver" turns off the friction and bounciness calculations of the rigid solver node. I'm not sure how much these actually affects the animation performance (my thought was "why have them on if they're not needed...")
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 04:44 PM   #6
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Chain

Thanks for the help, I must admit it's a bit beyond my meagre knowledge to understand some of what you mean, - but for my Chain - it works fine with just a slight tweak on the ends...

I just have to work out how to delete all the Animation stuff that is not needed now. I haven't tried yet, but would think it's pretty straightforward if I open the "Outliner"

Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.