Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-12-2003, 01:22 PM   #1
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Tracking dilemmas

As you know, tracking camera movement or an object from live action footage with Maya Live is relatively simple. But here's couple of cases which are not so simple. How would you go about:

- tracking an object from a footage where the camera is not static (i.e. the camera and the object both moves)?
- tracking multiple objects in a same shot?
- a combination of the both above

I have the feeling that the situations above are related to the same fundamental problem: You can track only one thing per scene?!? Tracking them separately in their own scene files might be some sort of a solution but how could one ensure the solver ends up with same cam settings and whatnot each time?
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 11:47 PM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Dam dude, I never used Live, but Maybe Brian E. could help out with this one as he does tracking at his work?

Have you acess to Bayou?

My first gut instinct would be to stabalize the camera shake first.
Then track the object(s).

Then, get that data into Maya for your plate animation.

Then comp together in post? hmmmm...
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2003, 03:05 PM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Bayou? If you mean Boujou, then no I don't have access to it... Isn't it like $10,000 or something :/

I wasn't quite talking about camera shake. I meant like if the camera was dollied while shooting a moving object. Anyway, I'll just propably try some of these cases and see if it can be done somehow...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2003, 09:21 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Sry man
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2003, 09:34 PM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Null perspiration, ragey

Just posted these questions here in hope of saving some trial-and-error time
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2003, 01:45 AM   #6
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

not that I have but I would think for things like this you would have to take passes at it.. first track the cam movemnt.. and thin the object.. I don't know but buy the quesiton it would seem Maya is not set up to track a object in a moving sean. So maybe you could bake the camara movement as a animation in the first pass.. and the second pass track the object.. but you might have to write like a custom mel to intrapilate the difrence.

Hope I made a little sence in my idea..
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2003, 04:44 AM   #7
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

This is what softwares like Boujou and MatchMover where made to do. Hand tracking it in Maya live is a b**ch.

They are both very pricey though.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.