Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-01-2004, 08:16 PM   #1
JohnWhite
Registered User
 
JohnWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How create Planet Earth scene?

Hello!!!

Please tell me where can I find good tutor how create planet earth scene: planet (with night side), clouds, and atmosphere?

Or please explain to me how to do this all?

Thank you!!!
JohnWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 08:37 PM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Nest three spheres, each one a little bigger than the previous one. Map the innermost one with an earth map (check NASA's immage database). The middle sphere, you would make a cloud map (image, procudural...whatever gets the job done). The largest, outermost sphere would be for your atmosphere. Do a search on x-ray shaders and you'll get the general idea of how to set up a shader for it (sampler info node into the v coordinates of a ramp). Then just tweak everything til your heart's content.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 08:40 PM   #3
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Try this for setting up the nightside.
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2004, 12:19 PM   #4
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

.
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2004, 12:19 PM   #5
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is strange, I am trying to do the same thing. I have made a NURBS globe and have put a layered texture on it. The first one is the Earth and the second is the clouds.

I was wondering, is there anyway of making the clouds move without the Earth moving. Or do I have to make 2 globes?

As far as creating atmosphere goes, I had a look at the related posts but there were a little over my head. Does anyone here speak n00b?!

Thanks in advance.

_LIVID
Attached Thumbnails
 
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.