Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-01-2004, 11:44 PM   #1
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default SubDiv to Poly problem

Hello, I'm new here and pretty new to Maya as well. I keep getting this problem whenever I convert a SubDiv model to Polys.
I set the Tesselation method to Vertices, the Level to zero, and and the Original Object to replace, and the conversion seems to go allright, but then when I start pulling the vertices on the resulting polygon, things get weird. It seems like there appears to be some sort of "invisible mesh" over the poly object. Like I'll select a point and move it, but what moves instead is another point that was right over the one I selected. The edges that extend from that point are connected to other points just like it, and the faces are completely transparent. How can I fix this?

Thanks!
Gun-Kata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 12:02 AM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Can you post a pic up... sounds like you got a proxy mesh or something along that line causing the trouble.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 02:06 AM   #3
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

it could be the same bug I was expirancing with maya 4.5 when I converted SubD' to poly I got both a poly object and a nother one.. I was never really sure if the other object was a poly or subD.
In short even when I had it ticked to replace the object. I still ended up with more than one object in the same place.

it seems it happens with some peoples maya.. and others it dosn't.

I just look in the outliner for the converted object and delet the others.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2004, 03:12 AM   #4
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies. Here's a crappy pic of the problem.

http://animation.filmtv.ucla.edu/stu...ena/subdiv.gif

Edit: Ok, it turns out there was something called polyToSubdShape1HistPoly was parented to polyToSubd1 in the Outliner. Deleting that took care of the problem. I still have no idea why the vertices doubled in number when converting to a poly. Sorry if my terminology is unclear, I'm still learning exactly what everything's called.

Last edited by Gun-Kata : 14-01-2004 at 03:27 AM.
Gun-Kata is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.