Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-01-2004, 12:36 AM   #1
MayaStudent
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Starting to get annoyed with maya

Ok, I'm trying to do a simple thing and it won't let me, this is from the Introducing Maya 5 For Beginners book, it's about Nurbs

I've Created 2 Lofted Surfaces and 2 Curves

Now it tells me to press F8 for Component mode and select the lines selection filter button(easy enough)

Then it tells me to select an isoparm close to the left edge of the lofted surface, then press F8 and Shift-Select the first Curve then Shift-Select the second Curve then press F8 again and select a Isoparm on the 2nd Lofted Surface then go Surfaces>Loft. It should connect from the first Lofted Surface to the first curve on to the 2nd curve and on to the 2nd Lofted Surface,

Here's my problem, After I select the first Isoparm and press F8 It deselects the Isoparm So how do I select all of these things in order without Deselecting the components.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
MayaStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 12:38 AM   #2
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You need to press and holddown the select button while you select the second isoparm
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 12:41 AM   #3
MayaStudent
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I understand that, but it won't let me select the Isoparm and the Curve, I have to select the Isoparm then the curve1 then curve2 then the Other Isoparm But it won't let me select the 1st Isoparm and any of the curves.
MayaStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 01:56 AM   #4
MayaStudent
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nobody Know?
MayaStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 02:01 AM   #5
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have no problem doing it! I will post a screen shot.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 02:20 AM   #6
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok www.mayafx.com/webfiles/loft.avi
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 02:36 AM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Just right click on both and select Isoparm from the selection menu. Should work.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 04:19 AM   #8
MayaStudent
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It works! Thank you!
MayaStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 04:35 AM   #9
MayaStudent
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, One more question?

How do you Extrude a shape along a path?
MayaStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2004, 04:40 AM   #10
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Select the profile curve first (the curve that determines the shape), shift select the path (the curve that determines the... well, path). Surface > Extrude.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.