Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-01-2004, 09:26 PM   #1
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Problems with rendering particles

Hello,
I have a problem.I'm a begginer when it comes to dynamics,but I have a problem. When i make particle object, set type to points or (any else), I then apply color to them useing shader or RGPpp in particels' atr. editor. When I'm in scene, they are the color they should be. But when I render it (useing hardware or soft. rederer), I can't see them at all. There's just a black background. What do I do wrong?

Tnx in advance!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2004, 09:28 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

only particles labeled (s/w) meaning "software" will render with your normal render. Those would be "clouds", "tubes", and "blobby surface".

Everything else must be rendered using the Hardware render buffer found under Window > Rendering editors and rendered as a seperate pass that must be composited into your scene afterwards in Aftereffects or Premier or something similar.

This sounds like a good idea for a tutorial... think I might do that soon.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2004, 10:50 PM   #3
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Thanks for help!
But shouldn't I see it with hardware renderer? If no, what is deference between soft. and hard. renderer?
And yes, I would appricate tutorial on this subject and think I'm not the only one!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2004, 11:27 PM   #4
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The difference is that clouds, blobby surfaces and tube are software rendered, with your RAM fully, because their shape must be calculated in a way other than just calibrate their center point. The other particles that can be rendered with your hardware, do have a center and an 'all the same shape', wich cause them to be harware renderable. I don't see why maya couldn't make the hardware renderable particles be rendered with sofware render also... but they must have had a reason
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2004, 09:20 PM   #5
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Ok, tnx for explaining!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.