Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-03-2004, 03:45 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Paint Skin Weights Always Adds

I'm trying to remove some of the influence of joints on certain areas on my skin which I did a Smooth Bind on. I thought that choosing replace and painting over white areas would turn those areas black to reduce influence. However, choosing Replace, Add, or Smooth all seem to turn the areas painted white. Any ideas what the problem is?

discostu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2004, 06:23 PM   #2
vladimirjp's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

make sure you are not holding weights on other joints. that may prevent artisan to do the operation correctly due to normalization.
in other words if there aren't other joints for the weights to go to, maya will keep them white, or sometimes really mess things up
. other than that be sure u are not hitting the flood button by mistake....
good luck
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2004, 06:53 PM   #3
The Maya Mountain
mtmckinley's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

You cannot paint weight away. In order to remove an area from a certain bone's influence, you have to paint that influence on to another bone.
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:27 PM   #4
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

In your Paint Weights tool settings make sure that Normalize Weights is set to interactive not Post or Off. I hope this helps.

darksushi89 is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 03:59 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.