Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-10-2004, 04:03 AM   #1
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Beginner in need of help

I've literally been working with Maya for less than a week now, and I've been exploring the UI as well as the different modeling techniques. I was attempting to create a human hand using Sub Divs. and I ran across a slight problem. Early in the creation phase I didn't have enough faces where the top and palms of the hand would be. Now that I'm done with a rough draft, I see that there's nasty lines converging in the center of the top and bottom of the hand, much like a spider web.

Is there a way that I could change that, or smooth the rough spots without affecting the rest of the hand?

I've included a picture of my problem. Also there are more screen shots and the actual project scene here:

http://oregonstate.edu/~rhodesd/Hand/

Thanks guys!
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 06:58 AM   #2
Billy_Cat
Registered User
 
Billy_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

post a low poly wire frame..
Billy_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 07:21 AM   #3
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I realize that I totally messed up by tuning the vertices while still in poly proxy mode, and then when I changed to standard I didn't realize how much control I had over the object, so I'm just wondering if it is recoverable. Here's a a wire frame in standard mode.

Edit: For future reference can you export a wireframe of the model or render a wireframe view? If so, how?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."

Last edited by Lifire : 25-10-2004 at 07:25 AM.
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 10:41 PM   #4
Billy_Cat
Registered User
 
Billy_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you have one verticy responsible for too many lines.. you need to delete that verticy, and manually connect the lines so they are continuous and end at the edge of the model..

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...ight=wireframe
Billy_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 05:42 AM   #5
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In standard mode, there is a verticy there (center of hand) on display level 2, I can select it and move it, but I can not delete it. In poly proxy mode, there is no vertex there. The hand started as a poly cube and then I extruded the fingers from there, so between the wrist and the fingers there aren't many edges or vertices.

I have tried a multitude of things attempting to fix it. I converted it to a nurbs surface and used the surface sculpt tool. Didn't work. I tried refining the area and adjusting the finer vertices. Didn't work either.

It would be all the more easier to start over I think, but I would like to know for future reference how to fix such a problem (aside from planning ahead).

My scene is here: http://oregonstate.edu/~rhodesd/Hand/Hand.mb

I hope it assists in finding a solution or to better understand my problem.
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 05:46 AM   #6
Billy_Cat
Registered User
 
Billy_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i cant open the file.. is it maya 6? I have maya 5
Billy_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 05:48 AM   #7
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, it is maya 6.
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 05:50 AM   #8
Billy_Cat
Registered User
 
Billy_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

post the proxy
Billy_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 05:53 AM   #9
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Proxy:
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 06:34 AM   #10
Billy_Cat
Registered User
 
Billy_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats the problem.. youve got to connect the vertices that are between the fingers to the wrist..
Billy_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2004, 05:52 AM   #11
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I updated the file. I think I converted it to a maya 5.0 file, so it SHOULD work now. Test and see please.

Thanks.

http://oregonstate.edu/~rhodesd/Hand/Hand.ma
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2004, 10:58 PM   #12
Billy_Cat
Registered User
 
Billy_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its all in word form.. post something I can download..
Billy_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2004, 11:22 PM   #13
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nevermind. I'll just restart from scratch since I don't know how to connect those vertices as you suggest. I've tried a few methods, and since you can't open the scene (I followed a guide to convert it to a maya 5.0 ascii file, which opens fine in 6.0 and says its an older version), but nothing has worked.

Thanks for trying I guess.
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2004, 02:27 AM   #14
Billy_Cat
Registered User
 
Billy_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its really easy to fix, but whatever...
Billy_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.