Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-01-2005, 08:38 PM   #16
flamemaster
Subscriber
 
flamemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi guys, Thanks for all the comments, i`ll get onto all of them as soon as possible. But for now i`m going to re-install maya and if that don`t work i will have to re-install windows and every thing else, what a bummer. The reason is that i can`t do much as it is running tooooooo slow i`m waiting 1-2 minutes just to move a UV and then maya crashes now and again. I don`t know the exact problem at the moment whether its the model or not ??
But for now here is the latest update to see if i have the right idea on the stripes. "I`LL BE BACK" as soon as i can. Sorry about this . P.S. in case you are wondering, i have:--- 3200+ Barton AMD CPU @ 2.2ghz, 512 mb @ 400mhz, and a MSI GeForce 5700 FX 256mb Graphics card, and some other things... so i`m not too short of power. It started stuttering out of the blue not to do with the modeling coz other things, games etc. do it also.
Thanks again and i`ll HOPEFULLY see you soon..
I`m not giving up on this.
Attached Thumbnails
 
flamemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2005, 11:13 PM   #17
Element_Khaos
Registered User
 
Element_Khaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sounds to me like a virus or spyware. download, update and run ad-aware by lavasoft http://www.lavasoftusa.com

also you may wanna try defragging your computer tonight, dpending on how much you have on your comp it will probably take a few hours.
Element_Khaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2005, 09:18 AM   #18
flamemaster
Subscriber
 
flamemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, thanks for the info, i`m gonna do a total re-install anyways on a spare hard drive i have and ONLY have my 3d work on it.
I always run: zone alarm, avg anti virus and ad-aware when ever i`m online and all the tests/scans were ok. So doing a re-install will get rid of all the crap m$ put onto the computers (or some at least ). Thanks.

Last edited by flamemaster : 30-01-2005 at 09:22 AM.
flamemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2005, 05:09 AM   #19
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its not always a virus or spyware. Alot of the time the computer has had just too much stuff on it. Even when you uninstall things registry entries and different file are still on the computer.
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2005, 04:08 PM   #20
flamemaster
Subscriber
 
flamemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

UPDATE...
Hi, just sorted it all out (I THINK).
Turns out it was the 3D model after all that, something was wrong somewhere, But the game i had problems with works fine now.
Anyways doing a clean re-install i got rid of some of the M$ crap on the computer.
I took the model right down to the basics and left just the left hand side, deleted all the construction history i had (I couldn`t delete it before as i had a bone/skin setup) and deleted anything i didn`t need anymore.
I`ve just gotta put it all back together again and i`ll have a update picture maybe next day or so.
----------------------------------------------
UPDATE...
Sorry i havn`t been in much over the week, i hope to get back to modeling soon as possible.

Last edited by flamemaster : 05-02-2005 at 07:51 PM.
flamemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 04:29 PM   #21
Twin_Omega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oakland, IL
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default More ideas

It looks great however I agree with the others. You need to fix the claws, add some muscle definition, fix the shadowing, blur the raptor a bit, work on the floating, and work with the textures. Something that wasn't mentioned that would make a huge difference, would be to use darker colors. The raptor is far too bright, that takes away from the realism. The eyes could have a little more gloss too. But hey it's looking great, just keep at it.
Twin_Omega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2005, 04:48 PM   #22
flamemaster
Subscriber
 
flamemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, sorry for lack of updates but i havn`t had much of a chance to tweak the model, plus the dam thing still runs a bit slow.
I can do the muscle definition and have an idea for the floor around the feet, but i need help on the lighting part.
I am using 3 lights, 1 as the sun which is quite far away from the model, 1 to the right and 1 by the belly just enough to give a bit of light.
All are point lights, am i right on this ??
I`ve tried 1 ambient light as the sun and the model is too soft, e.g. no bump.
I have also tried a directional light but the model is way to dark even with the intensity turned all the way up.
Also shadows only seem to show up using the point light way.
Any help much appreciated, Thanks.
flamemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2005, 10:39 PM   #23
Twin_Omega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oakland, IL
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'd like to see your final render so far.
Twin_Omega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 12:50 PM   #24
urvinism
Registered User
 
urvinism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lithuania, Klaipeda
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The model is just great, but it just doesn't look great, the lights, the textures and the materials are terrible, I think. Maybe you shuoldn't use the backgruond image at all.

Mayby i shouldn't say so, cos i couldn't do a model like that myself.
urvinism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 03:53 PM   #25
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

If you are using Maya 6 and want to use this background image why dont you take advantage of Mayas IBL (Image Based Lighting) option. Right now the model needs sorting texture wise too, as its looking too much like a plastic kit. Get some good lizard reference such as Iguanas and Komodo Dragons and go from there.
I dont wanna sound too harsh but this is a c+c forum afterall., and the only way to see your mistakes is have others point them out.

Cheers
_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 04:04 PM   #26
urvinism
Registered User
 
urvinism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lithuania, Klaipeda
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

Mayas IBL? I don't think the creator of the raptor knows much of it (and i wuold like to learn abuot it myself ). Tell us more. Where is it, how to use this option?
urvinism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 04:33 PM   #27
flamemaster
Subscriber
 
flamemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hay, any comment is good nomatter how harsh it is, It all helps me out to see what i`m doing wrong.
This is my first real attempt at modeling and so far i`m pleased of how it`s going and how it`s turned out.
I know i`ve got to do lots of things and all the comments help out.
I`ve also tried that image based lighting thingy but i havn`t a clue but it sounds good in the maya help.
Thanks.
P.S...
I`ve been doing all of my renders in software mode to get the shadow to work.
Is there a way to get the shadows to work in hardware mode in which the model looks much better in detail ???

Last edited by flamemaster : 26-02-2005 at 06:51 PM.
flamemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 07:26 PM   #28
flamemaster
Subscriber
 
flamemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

A Quick showing of what i meen of hardware render.
Also no background !!
Attached Thumbnails
 
flamemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 09:51 PM   #29
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

IBL is in the render globals menu, its part of the mental ray renderer. Just hit Mental Ral tab and Image Based Lighting is down in the lower section. Hit create and it will create a sphere or cube, and then you can load an image onto the sphere. In the AE for the sphere you must hit the Emit Light Tab in order for this to work. Be warned render times are quite long but the result can be worth it.

_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 11:29 PM   #30
Aidan
Registered User
 
Aidan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm tempted to agree that the background image isn't needed. It will probably be quite tricky to get the model to sit convincingly in the background picture. There is one way to massively improve this image and i think its relatively simply. You need to paint up a better texture. As Jango said find reference of lizards. At the moment the raptor looks far to mint condition. You are using just 2 colours for the skin by the looks of it.
Aidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.