Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-05-2007, 04:13 PM   #151
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Is desktop pin an application that you need to download from the web? I like the idea.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2007, 05:42 PM   #152
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Do a wireframe render of your model. I came across a site with the instructions here: http://www.olivervisualfx.com/Optimized_Rendering.htm

Here are the instructions copied over (you need the vectorrender.mll plug in turned on Windows>Setting/Preferences>Plug-in Manager)

-Window -> Preferences-> Plugin Manager

-Turn VectorRender.mll on

Go to render globals-> open Maya Vector tab



for wireframe render











Render Globals:





File Name Prefix: "Your_image_name"

Frame/Anim Ext: name.#.ext

Image format: Targa





Start and end frame







Maya Vector TAB:



Appearance Options:

Curve Tolerance= 0



Detail Level Preset:

Automatic or High Quality (blurs the lines)



* = Fill Objects

Fill Style: Single Color





= Show Back Faces (On or Off depends on your goal, I would leave it on)



* = Include Edges



Edge weight=Hair

or 0.200 (any value, makes the wireframe’s line width thicker)



Edge Style = Outline





* = Edge Detail:

90




Heres my vector render, they're pretty cool, look kind of hand animated, old cartoon style

Might have to learn more about vector rendering now
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2007, 04:59 PM   #153
Ravenheart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, I wasn't sure where to post this. Where can I find a program (preferably stand alone, or a script for 3DS MAX) that will convert .3ds (or anything 3DS MAX exports) into a .mb file?
Ravenheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2007, 12:12 AM   #154
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Maya has a plug in to do it now, think its in the plug in manager
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2007, 04:27 AM   #155
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

funny enough Steve I seem to have lost .3ds import and export since Autodesk took over Maya,it used to be in the bonus tools but doesn't show up for me anymore is it just me or has the 3ds export been taken out ?
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2007, 04:43 AM   #156
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Think its you mate! LOL! Its still in the bonus tools, have you got them from Autodesk for 2008?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2007, 05:08 AM   #157
Ravenheart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't have Maya, just 3DS MAX.
Ravenheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2007, 06:04 AM   #158
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Dunno then mate, Does Max not have a converter? As its a Maya site I was under the assumption that you wanted to import a 3ds file into maya, not export from max in a maya file.

If your going to send it to someone with Maya then just tell them to look into the bonus tools.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2007, 06:06 AM   #159
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I had a play around, it was in the bonus tool scripts but for some reason was not showing in the plugin manager.
I have got it showing now though and it's all good.

Ravenheart you can export as an obj and then import that into Maya and save the mb , but I think I am right in saying that there is no app other than Maya that can open .mbs or make them.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner

Last edited by jsprogg : 22-10-2007 at 06:14 AM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2007, 12:33 AM   #160
Rociru
Registered User
 
Rociru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In your computer it...HURTZ!
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

:bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow:


Dude that vector render of that car is AWESOME!!!
__________________
I am nobody. Nobody is perfect. Therefore I am perfect.
Rociru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2007, 12:49 AM   #161
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Rociru
:bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow:


Dude that vector render of that car is AWESOME!!!
thanks man, I appreciate the comment. It's the first and only car I've made and it's still incomplete.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 12:55 PM   #162
sk8ball6
Registered User
 
sk8ball6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can somone help me im having trouble with how you people make these i dont have a download on how to make these like the mail page so if one of you feel like helping me plz post a coment or e-mail me at saintsarmy@hotmail.com
sk8ball6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 01:24 PM   #163
mischaw0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

heres a quick tip :


to open a previous version maya scene file in 2008 or 8.5 , just click options box next
to open scene, and make sure ignore version is selected.
mischaw0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2008, 01:42 PM   #164
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Sorry if this was mentioned. I'm still at page 6. Thanks a lot for everyone :bow: .

Thought I'll add something I use a lot:
Create a sensitivity hotkey for TTD(tumble, track and dolly) -
I set these to 's' hit and release:
Code:
/*TTD_Sensitivity
Temporally decrease tumble, track and dolly sensitivity*/
dollyCtx -e -scale 0.1 dollyContext;
trackCtx -e -trackScale 0.1 trackContext;
tumbleCtx -e -tumbleScale 0.1 tumbleContext;
Code:
/*TTD_Sensitivity_Release
Restore tumble, track and dolly sensitivity*/
dollyCtx -e -scale 1 dollyContext;
trackCtx -e -trackScale 1 trackContext;
tumbleCtx -e -tumbleScale 1 tumbleContext;
EDIT:
You can probably add manipulator sensitivity too - check my next post and one of the posts at the beginning of this thread. It's been mentioned how to change manipulator tool's sensitivity.
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)

Last edited by BennyK : 25-08-2008 at 01:46 PM.
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2008, 01:44 PM   #165
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

For the last post-
To create your own hotkeys:
1) Go to 'Window'>'Settings/Preferences'>'Hotkey Editor'.
2) (optional)Go to 'User' under categories to view your hotkeys.
3) Press 'New' and enter desired name and description. Make sure you select 'User' under category.
4) For 'Command' you can either write your own Mel code or for those of us who don't know anything about programing (now that I think of it the other type won't find this tip useful) continue reading(?goto MyInstructions[5]; //zero based - :lmao: couldn't resist).
5) You can use changes you do on regular basis (eg. change tool settings) and then copy the command from script editor.
5.1)Open script editor and turn 'History'>'Echo all commands' on.
5.2)Enter "/*mark*/" in the command line and hit Ctrl+Enter to help see where you left.
5.3)Make the changes you want for the hotkey, advisably one by one.
5.4)Check script editor and copy the relevant command(s)
5.5)Paste the command(s) into 'Command' in the hotkey editor.
6)Click 'Accept' in the hotkey editor and click 'List all' in top-right corner to view available hotkeys.
7)Once you found a hotkey you like go back to hotkey editor and enter the key in the 'Assign new hotkey' part. then click assign. See dropdown list for hotkeys that are more then one button.

Hope it helps.
I'd post credit but I don't remember where I learned this. hope you don't mind
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.