Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-03-2005, 07:20 PM   #1
Kaoru
Registered User
 
Kaoru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is there any way to export/convert to *.lwo or *.obj ?

Hello everyone

Is there any way to export a object/scene from Maya into a *.lwo or a *.obj file?
I need to import some scenes I built to Vue d'Esprit.

Cya,
Kaoru
Kaoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 09:52 PM   #2
IMG4
Subscriber
 
IMG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes you can (not sure for the *.lwo) you only need to go in the Plug-in manajer (Window > Setting/Preferences > Plug-in Manager) and check objExporter.lib


IMG4. :rambo:
__________________
"I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.
IMG4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 01:02 PM   #3
Kaoru
Registered User
 
Kaoru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yaaay!

Thx alot.
These 2 Programms are really cool.
With the export function even noobs like me can build awesome looking scenes.

Maya to build the Objects
Vue d'Esprit to build the natural environment.

Kaoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 06:40 PM   #4
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

There's a script to make maya workable in lightwave, but haven't personally tried it:
http://www.3danim.de/pages/free_stuf...w/maya2lw.html
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.