Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-05-2005, 09:04 AM   #31
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default transfering UVsets not allowed

something else I found out. but it's no logic thing. when I make duplicate version from orig mesh and map it planar, then try to transfer the new UVset_Costum to the orig mesh it happens that this creates nothing. so I try it again - same process. well the 2nd try did work it created beside the default map1 a UVset_Costum on my original mesh. there is absolutely no logic sense about this. why didn't it work the first time?! there was no warning in the SE. after deleting the new set transfering still doesn't work the first but second time.

first try:

select -r polyToSubd55 ;
select -tgl polyToSubd54 ;
polyTransfer -vc 0 -uv 1 -v 0 -ao polyToSubd55|subdTessShape2 polyToSubd54|subdTessShape2;
// Result: polyTransfer1 //


second try:

select -r polyToSubd55 ;
select -tgl polyToSubd54 ;
polyTransfer -vc 0 -uv 1 -v 0 -ao polyToSubd55|subdTessShape2 polyToSubd54|subdTessShape2;
// Result: polyTransfer2 //


after deleting the UVsets I also deleted history. next try is with a extracted part. extracted the dupe mesh in two halfes maped it planar. no transfer is happening.

SE:
select -r polyToSubd55 ;
select -tgl polyToSubd54 ;
polyTransfer -vc 0 -uv 1 -v 0 -ao polyToSubd55|subdTessShape2 polyToSubd54|subdTessShape2;
// Warning: Can't perform polyTransfer1 on disabled selection //
// Result: polyTransfer1 //



I would be so very happy if someone could tell me something about that!
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 10:30 PM   #32
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

I reinstalled maya now cause Im depressed, this is hopeless. in this tut on

http://www.freelance-animation.com/n...uvmapping.html

it sounds so easy. and at my first attempt, when not really knowing what I did everything worked out well. but now after hours of reading and trial & error that damn UV thing just WONT transfer. I just cant figure out what is going on here! this guy from the tut said ".. as long as no geometry is changed and the numer of vertices is the same". so I thought ->extracting<- leaves me the same number of verts. but logically a extracted geometry though adds verts. whatever. I did exactly what the tut told - no chance. if nobody can help, I will look for another way to lay out the UVs. but in my opinion this tutorial - if it would keep its promise - is best way to lay out the UVs of my fish.

what is this "disabled selection"? is an obj with different counts of vertices a disabled object for transfering? seems so.

still would be great, if someone knows and could lend a helping hand!
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 08:47 AM   #33
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thumbs up

when you extract a geometry, you make an exact copy of the selected faces, the tutorial tells you to do that and flatten out the extracted copy and work on its UV and then transfer it back to the original source, so i think you gotta select the same exact faces again. thats why you save it as a selection earlier on. the tutorial seems simple enough, if anything you should try doing it on a simpler object, lets say a 32 polygon rock. cheers and dont give up!
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 09:37 AM   #34
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

thx buddy, I will check that tonight when home. the tutorial doesn't say something about saving selections. also the maya docs don't mention something about selecting same faces for transfering (transfering extracted geometry isn't even covered in the docs). theory I thought is -> select obj1, shift select obj2 and choose Transfer to move the UVset from obj1 to obj2.

but what you said sounds pretty logical to me! I try that on a simple object.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 08:42 PM   #35
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

well I tried now, but as I supposed - I got this error message from the SE:

performPolyTransfer 0;
// Error: polyTransfer requires two polygon objects //

so Transfer doesn't work in component mode.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 09:40 PM   #36
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok. could it be something is messed up in the scene? sometimes i get weird errors and the only way i seem to fix it is by exporting my object as an OBJ file and then reimporting or just starting a blank scene and IMPORTING the objects in instead of opening. if you want i can try and see whats up with your scene.
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 09:54 PM   #37
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

cool, I didn't try these things. and yes, it would honour me if you really want to experiment with my scene. pm me your mail adress and I´ll send you the file.

I try now those things out you mentioned, cause even with a simple cube it gives me the same error.


----------------
edit:
silly! allready tried that in a new scene with new objects. same error.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.

Last edited by Falott : 14-05-2005 at 09:57 PM.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 10:00 PM   #38
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

one question ->

could you maybe orgeeizm or someone else create a cube duplicate it, extract a face, map it and then try transfering the UVs to the original cube?

I wonder if it´s even possible by now...
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2005, 12:26 AM   #39
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

whatever the problem was, I couldn�t solve it. droped that concept, although if it would work it would be the coolest way to map. instead of transfering UVs I found a mel on http://www.dannyngan.com/tools.htm
it�s kind of a automapper controlled by painting on the obj. played around with it and found out that me was too enthusiastic with painting the fish.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.

Last edited by Falott : 15-05-2005 at 09:31 AM.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2005, 02:45 AM   #40
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I have yet to try that tutorial you linked, but after looking through it, I can only imagine that perhaps you had deleted your history after making your seperate parts? Either that or you edited one or more of the parts in a way that made the transfer no longer work (adding or removing verts, for example).

That's all I can think of, sorry. Hope this new method works better for you.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2005, 09:04 AM   #41
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

thx Mike! but I tried everything - with and without history. I did not change the geometry exept extracting - what in my opinion is an operation which for sure changes the number of components in an object.

BUT! when I woke up today a workaround came to my mind. did not try it yet but it WILL WORK! hehe.

duplicating - averaging vertices in problematic areas and flaten out the borders - dannyUV the obj.
then I simply do with the UVs in the set what I tried to do with the geometry before. -> split UVs where I before extracted the geometry. then convert the selection to UVs and voila -> move them away. se bon. this is going to be a very nice unwrapping. wheeee!

I found one german tutorial about the same method with maya 4.0 - nobody seems to face the same problem with extracting and transfer.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2005, 10:53 PM   #42
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

the geometry from the fish is finished now. there are some many areas left which still could need some tweaking. but if I don't quit now, I' ll never finish it. also did some tests with the UV layout. the only thing which bugs me is the deformation of the texture after smoothing the obj. in many tutorials there is the advisory to smooth geometry after laying out the UVs and what easy and preferable and whatnot andvantage it is. but no one mentions the crappy deformation after the geometry is smoothed.

here is an update ->
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2005, 10:54 PM   #43
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

and some perspective view. I hope to compensate ugly parts of geometry with good textures later.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2005, 09:05 PM   #44
dae
Subscriber
 
dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

it is looking good Falott:nod: the textures can only make it look better.

dae
__________________
"I THINK, THEREFORE I AM"
Ren Descartes

www.mvorster.co.uk
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 05:51 PM   #45
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

thx dae
we will see.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.