Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-11-2002, 07:17 PM   #1
robinmthomas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Computer Specs for Your Maya Box

I just installed Maya and oh my god it is slow - I realize that it is doing a ton of calculations on the fly to add light and objects, etc, but I can't believe that it would be that slow.

Adding a light source and choose "Display Selected Lights" took 3-5 minutes.

My machine is an Athalon 1Ghz, 704MB of RAM, WindowsXP

What are you guys running Maya on?
Is my experience normal?
robinmthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 07:29 PM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

You have a problem dude.

My specs: Win2000 - 900MHz - 128 MB RAM
Takes about 1sec to update my challenge submarine with three lights.

Hmm, how many applets are you running Maya with? Remember, photoshop and Maya don´t go along well, since they´re both memory hungry. How about WINAMP? MP3 playing while in Maya even though great, does perform a huge difference since MP3 technology eats system resources to decompress the algoritm.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 08:00 PM   #3
robinmthomas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was playing a WMV tutorial (from SM ) - Maybe that was the problem.

I just reformatted my machine so I don't think I need a system refresh...
robinmthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 08:07 PM   #4
robinmthomas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Also - I have a 16MB TNT nVidia Video Card - Do you think that is the problem?
robinmthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 08:56 PM   #5
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Im on a 1.3 AMD Athlon, 768 megs ram, Windows XP, 64 meg G-force 2 card.


Looks like it your video Card bud, get at least a 64 meg card.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 09:00 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I've got a 2.0 P4, 1 Gb RDRAM, Win XP Pro, 128 mb GeForce 4 Ti4600...

I'm doing ok.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:07 PM   #7
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've got;
DELL Inspiron 5000 (laptop)
Pentium III - 600MHz
ATI rage pro 8Mb VRAM (8 MB is max!)
384 MB SDRAM
18GB HDD
Win2000
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:11 PM   #8
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

1.4 P4
256mb RDram
60gb HD (seagate and western digital)
win2k
geforce 2 GTS

i need an upgrade
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:15 PM   #9
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Nem
1.4 P4
256mb RDram
60gb HD (seagate and western digital)
win2k
geforce 2 GTS

i need an upgrade
You need one? LOL damn, I´m outdated
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:30 PM   #10
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

amd 1.4
512 sdram
140gb hd
win2k
geforce2ti

@undseth.. 8mg!!! damn man!!
@adl.. why man.. what you got..
Roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:32 PM   #11
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

@Roman
Originally posted by adldesigner
You have a problem dude.

My specs: Win2000 - 900MHz - 128 MB RAM
Takes about 1sec to update my challenge submarine with three lights.

Hmm, how many applets are you running Maya with? Remember, photoshop and Maya don´t go along well, since they´re both memory hungry. How about WINAMP? MP3 playing while in Maya even though great, does perform a huge difference since MP3 technology eats system resources to decompress the algoritm.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:36 PM   #12
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

lol.. ahahahahahah.. i neeeeedd MOORRREEEE SLEEEEEEPPP!!!

do you believe me that i actually DID read it.. hahahaha
Roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:38 PM   #13
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hahahaha! Hahahaha!
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 12:10 AM   #14
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

2.53ghz P4
1 gig of ram (pc1066 RDRAM)
128mb ti4200
2x 80gb WD's

Does me fine
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 12:11 AM   #15
Tem
Lifetime Member
 
Tem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: RI, USA
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dual P4 Xeon 2.2ghz
512 RDRAM 800mhz
GeForce 4 TI4600 128mb
3ware 7540 IDE Raid
5-100gb EIDE 100 Hard Drives.
4 in a RAID 5 Array and 1 as a backup drive.
Tem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.