Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-11-2002, 11:25 PM   #1
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Create Reference Image Planes - Mel Script

Hrr...here it is

My first, not complete, not optimized, not fully tested, propably buggy but somewhat usable I hope

Just extract it in your "My Documents/maya/scripts" folder and type "refplanes;" in the command line (or make a shelf button).

c & c + bugreports are welcome.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!

Last edited by kbrown : 13-11-2002 at 07:59 PM.
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2002, 11:54 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default How to use it...

I forgot that there is no documentation so you prolly don't know what to do with it Here's a brief explanation.

The script creates polygon planes with reference images for top, side and front views. Leave the image file name blank if you don't wish to create that plane.

It also creates a locator and adds a new attribute to it. With this attribute you can control the transparency of the planes.

The planes are also added to a new layer called REF_PLANES which is set to "reference" mode so you don't accidentally select them.

That's about it. I still need to work on the placement of the planes. For now you may wish to move them manually.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 12:02 AM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Here's a screen shot:
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 12:07 AM   #4
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

interesting, just wait for others to test it. i dont have anything that has front side top images which i could use to model. and trying out the anatomically perfect pictures of body parts i am not good enough to model yet - and i would not know how too put skin on top of the muscles
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 12:12 AM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

One other thing...I believe this doesn't work on any other platform than NT (at least the browse buttons won't I think).
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 12:25 AM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I'll be sure to try it out for my next project, kman.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 02:40 AM   #7
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Great work K! I´ll be sure to test drive it tomorrow ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 08:33 AM   #8
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

interesting work man.. i'll be checkin' it out too.. :p
Roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 04:40 PM   #9
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Looks like a really cool script kbrown though i can't get it working. I run the script, browse for the images but when i click go, i receive the error, the source attribute cannot be found.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 10:58 PM   #10
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

mrmacca: could you please turn on the Script->Show Line Numbers (in the script editor) and try to run it again. Then paste the error with the line number so I can debug this better.

Oh, and which maya version and os are you using?
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2002, 12:04 AM   #11
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i'm running version 4 on xp pro, here's the error..

// Error: file: C:/Documents and Settings/My Documents/maya/4.0/scripts/refplanes.mel line 222: The source attribute cannot be found. //

Is that what you needed?
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2002, 09:08 AM   #12
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Yes, thanks. I'll look in to this later today...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2002, 07:56 PM   #13
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Updated the script to V0.0.3

-Removed the place2dTexture nodes from the ref plane shaders. There was some version conflicts and they're not used for anything anyway.
-Set the starting folder to "<current project>/sourceimages".

Known issues
I didn't make the script connect the transparency attributes of the file texture node due to
some different behaviour between maya 4.5 and earlier versions. I think you can connect them
manually if you're using 4.0 (so you can benefit from a possible alpha channel stored in the image).
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!

Last edited by kbrown : 13-11-2002 at 08:00 PM.
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2002, 08:00 PM   #14
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Oops, I screwed up

Here's the file:
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2002, 08:10 PM   #15
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hey great work k-man!!!! cheers
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
MEL headache!! happymat27 Mel Scripts & Programming 1 03-12-2010 04:41 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.