Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-06-2006, 03:49 PM   #16
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Matt

I know mate, I'm just justifying the fact that theres nothing to worry about in any of these samples given by you guys, its purely the algorythm and thats it, Vlad doesnt like it thats all.

Im giving my 10pence worth and then some, as I work in the industry and have experience on the matters in question, and have added some extra insight to Level edits...Perhaps I'll charge next time LOL

Best
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2006, 03:55 PM   #17
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well jay you heard of the stupid tax ..so guess that is charging ...
mmoore5553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2006, 05:02 PM   #18
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

in terms of algorithym, maya, max, xsi, LW, all use catmull clarck.
the issue is even not doing higher lever tweaks it screws up the wire. this makes it unbareable for me to model and tweak.
take a look at older version of maya subD display at the bottom of he page here.
http://www.geocities.com/susantio/head01.htm
more here too
http://suchyworks.com/
also in most apps now, u can edit subD verts directly on the surface, not at the poly cage point. which make modeling a lot more accurate and flowing in other apps [xsi, LW, modo]

i guess its a matter of preference at the end. if u can bare modeling in maya, great. unless im getting paid or have to use maya, i really wont for modeling.. anymore :p


here is a pic

__________________
Image dump

Last edited by vladimirjp : 30-06-2006 at 05:07 PM.
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.