Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-01-2007, 09:11 PM   #31
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it is the m5700 before they stopped( not made no more because they now use the core 2 duo) so now they use the m5750 model which IMO is worse because now they are using the core 2 duo which is nice but they are doing dual gefore 7900 gs craphics card which is worse the dual gefore 7800gtx and the new motherboard can only handle 2bg of ram which mines can handle 3gb (which is what i have).

yea it is pretty insane lol it ran me near $6000 but i took it out through my school loan

Last edited by 99GsTurbo : 02-01-2007 at 09:16 PM.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 09:20 PM   #32
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Ahh right, thougt that alienwares first dual graphics card notebooks were the M9700 series as I looked into the P4 alienwares, the Area 51's etc (and the AMD 64x2's) but waited for the intel cores to come out.

Think whan I get some cash together I might upgrade mine to 4Gb RAM (its max)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 09:25 PM   #33
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yea those are nice but the only problem i have with the 9700 series is its amd and im an intel person since i have a friend who works for intel. she usually gets me upgrades all the time so i stick with that

ohh man i know im so upset tho, i wanted to wait got the the axl desktop which is even way better. ill soon take out another student loan before i graduate lol and do so. lol thats how i got my car lol im going to owe alot of money
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 09:29 PM   #34
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dude make sure u get the comp tho. these are the sweetest compes ive ever used
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 09:41 PM   #35
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I got a Dell XPS m1710 with the Gforce 7900GTX in the end.

I didnt really want to pay as much as Alienware charged extra over the other other comps that are the same, all be it without the paint job.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 10:27 PM   #36
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tru. how is the xps systems. i was looking into it before i purchased miines
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 10:32 PM   #37
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Great, really fast, decent weight to move about (to uni and back) and well built, very solid and stable, lots of ports (6 x USB's and a mini firewire for video editing), also its almost completly upgardable, and the instructions tell you how to do it.

I settled on the XPS as it was the best laptop for me looking at the reviews online, and I did a lot of looking and reasearch! LOL!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 10:00 AM   #38
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Heres my comp

AMD Athlon 3000+
Kingston Ram 2gig
Western Digital Hardrive 120 & 140gig
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO 512MB (also Nvidia 2 built in motherboard)

is there a way which i can use my ati radeon card to render my stuff like im doing now but also have it helped with my nvidia 2?

marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 12:03 PM   #39
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

im pretty much sold on macs these days, the PC is nice with the new processor and the laptop is good with the intel and the wiz bang video card but i have never seen anything so user friendly as a mac, all computers should interface like this one

I Mac
intel big processor, dual core
nvidea ..?? something great

blad blah .., 24 inch screen, ect ect, but so frendly to use it is a breeze and with a bit more RAM (forgot how much there is) it will fly

thats my vote, when they bring out the maya for macs.., will be very cool
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:02 PM   #40
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hey there Mirek,

Maya's always been available for Mac and Linux as far as I'm aware, If not always then certainly a long time!! I'm not too sure how it works when the Mac has intel processors though (whether you use the PC or Mac version).

Hope your well, uni has had me bogged under, got another bit of coursework to submit tomorrow!!

Later,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 08:38 PM   #41
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hi matt, always good to see your friedly postings. I was refering to a version of Maya someonmentioned on ths thread about a 64 bit version for intel. I might be wrong about that. I dont know if I would put it on the Mac, I have maya and computers coming out of my ears and I really need to concentrate on music at the moment. Just saying that the mac is so user friendly.
take care
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 01:50 PM   #42
DotNet54
Registered User
 
DotNet54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

p4 3.0GHz CPU
768 RAM (256 + 512 ) DDR2

unfortunately my biggest problem is i dont have a graphics card :headbang: , im using 64mb shared memory from RAM


im trying to get a graphics card sooon
__________________
Maya is simple, but only if you believe it
DotNet54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 04:37 PM   #43
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just for reference to anyone out there looking buying a similar spec system to mine the zoorender maya benchmark scene rendered as is (opened and rendered perspective view with no changes) in 1m 24 secs
I do have a fair few other things running so it might go faster on a clean system.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 (2.4Ghz)
2 Gb Ram
SapphireTech Radeon x1950 Pro Ulitmate version (not really a 3D app card, more for gaming)

Si

EDIT: ah, didnt see the benchmark listings below, will add the results there...
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net

Last edited by t1ck135 : 06-02-2007 at 04:42 PM.
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 08:35 PM   #44
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

3 min 4 seconds, not too bad for a laptop.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 05:03 AM   #45
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

im chugging away on:
1 Gb ram
Radeon 9550
Intel Celron 3.20 Ghz
it is a very low budget system but it can run maya alright
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.