Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-04-2007, 03:42 AM   #16
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dutch

that is exactly what i meant i just couldnt remem the order

and now just today my comp has packed in, crashes all the time and wheni restart i have do do a chkdsk but that always crashes (dunno y its not boot files its all the indexes are corrupt along witj like another 100 core files)
i am now doing it that way - last time i don it it took 2hrs
dont worry if ur doing it and the percentage drops mine usually goes up to 75% then drops back down to 50% and takes like twice as long
but it usuall works
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2007, 05:10 AM   #17
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks Dutch and pbman.

I managed to fix my laptop last night - at first I tried booting from an external hard drive but for some reason I didn't have much luck.

So then I went into the recovery console and typed 'chkdsk /p' which did a search through the drive and when that was done I typed 'fixboot' which seemed to fix the problem.

XP booted normally and all of my work was fine so I quickly made some back ups. Just wish I hadn't waited so long to try a repair.

Here are a couple of links which deal with the error: 'Unmountable Boot Volume'.

http://www.techtips4u.com/kb/sw/SW00014.htm

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555302

sorry to hear that you are having some problems pbman. Hope you manage to sort it out.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2007, 10:06 AM   #18
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

glad u got it sorted also while ur at it hake a md-dos bootable floopy disk as well can come in handy (insert flopy . in my computer right click floppy and format check create ms-dos bootable)

thx arran - finished the scans and now its fine, i hope it stays like it but my comp has broken down about 10 times in a year one of which set ther psu on fire:headbang:
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2007, 01:11 PM   #19
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

waah! fire and pc - that does not sound good!

thanks for the advice on the floppy disc.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.