Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-06-2007, 09:25 PM   #1
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default Maya 8.5 SP1 Update

thought I would post this for anyone runing 8.5, theres a service pack that sorts out some bugs, heres the link

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9242259
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 10:59 PM   #2
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

cheers,

looking thought the notes there is still no mention about the vista problems.
(ncloth causing crashing, my docs folder problems, ect...)

so heres hoping for Maya 9 soon, although some of the other fixes are welcome.

** edit **
really not happy about having to uninstall 8.5 to install this takes forever
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 03-06-2007 at 11:39 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 12:12 AM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Although I like updates a lot, this one doesnŐt help me too much. And I donŐt want to take the chance of wiping out my entire Applications folder.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 12:16 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I'm still downloading it.

Its a free upgrade so its up to you if you install it, its more of a complete application rarther than an update!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 12:28 AM   #5
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

good news all the problems with vista are gone with this update wooo hooo
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 01:58 AM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

This is the reason I dropped Vista and went back to XP.

I might give it another go then

Technically there is no support of Vista for any of the current versions of Maya. This is stated somewhere on www.the-area.com, but at least its working for u now and you have no excuse for not doing anything :p
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 04:07 PM   #7
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

i dont have any problems with vista
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 04:22 PM   #8
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Really

you running 85 yer

try running some ncloth (pre "ser pack 1" update ) and watch Maya go buy buy
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 05:25 PM   #9
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

i use Ncloth all the time, it runs fine
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 06:11 PM   #10
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by Joopson
i dont have any problems with vista
Haha, you and Bill Gates.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 06:23 PM   #11
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

sorry what I meant to say is

try cacheing the ncloth - thats where the problem was
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2007, 11:49 PM   #12
the_brein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: commonwealth of los angeles
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by R@nSiD
This is the reason I dropped Vista and went back to XP.
same here. i bought a laptop with vista and i was in hell. i had to uninstall and install xp. and since i had vista legally, i saw no moral missue with installing a bootleg copy of xp.

hehe
the_brein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.