Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-06-2007, 01:29 PM   #16
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Thanks gster123,
good advice about keeping in one file in using layers. I'll do that.

I started blocking out the head today using the box modeling technique. Here's what I have so far. I'll try and post lots of updates thought this process that way anyone who has suggestions about anything can let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 01:32 PM   #17
kinddoggofwar
Registered User
 
kinddoggofwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Looks really cool already! That little skull near his waist will add a lot.
__________________
Yay, not a freshman anymore!
kinddoggofwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 03:24 PM   #18
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Started cutting in for facial features. I've decided to add a more prominate nose than just two holes above the upper lip.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 06:00 PM   #19
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Update
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 11:46 PM   #20
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Very nice progress Perfecto!
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 02:03 AM   #21
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Nice going man.

I can see a ngon that youve got in the eye area that might be best off sorting out sooner rarther than later, simply split poly should do the trick.

Looking forward to seeing this develop
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 04:26 AM   #22
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Thanks THX1138 and gster123!

I didn't see that ngon gster123 until after you mentioned it, thanks.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 05:02 AM   #23
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Does anyone know how I can have a copy of my model in subd or smoothed while my original is is base mesh. I want to make changes on my base mesh while seeing instant update on the subd/smoothed copy.

I saw this somewhere a while ago but just don't remember where. I tried duplicating with instance but it doesn't work. If I convert the duplicate to subd, it separates it from the base (changes don't update). If I smooth the duplicate, then it also smooths the base.

I'll reasearch it after I get out of church today in case nobody knows.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 07:08 AM   #24
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://www.colingories.com/

Maya -> Polygons -> CPS

Might be what you're looking for.
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 08:13 AM   #25
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

In the poly's menu set theres a subdiv proxy menu, just click on that and have a look for the crerate sub div proxy or someting like that, should do the job (might have to mess with the axis settings)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 09:00 AM   #26
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Thanks guys!
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 01:00 PM   #27
s2-speedy
Registered User
 
s2-speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ENGLAND UK
Posts: 286
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Default

nice work so far perfecto
s2-speedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2007, 12:05 AM   #28
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

yeah - good work perfecto - this is looking pretty mean - and i like your concept sketch - this is going to look cool!
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2007, 09:31 PM   #29
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Just letting everyone know that I should be able to do some more work on this either tonight or this coming weekend. I havn't been able to hardly work on this lately (unfortunately) but as usual, I plan on having a finished model by the deadline one way or another. I still think I have time though to get the model looking the best that my current skills will allow me.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 03:43 AM   #30
s2-speedy
Registered User
 
s2-speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ENGLAND UK
Posts: 286
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Default

nice 2 know u still goin at this perfecto - i was gutted not finishin the last challenge. u still got another month and a bit 2 go so keep goin wen u can.... id like 2 see this finished
s2-speedy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.