Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-10-2007, 06:44 AM   #1
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default Character_ReVisited

hey All

well seeing as though heads are appearing here left right and centre, I thought I post this guy up.

I did the original model a while back, but the week before last my system went a bit weird and I had to reinstall Zbrush, and basically I erased the original head in the process as it was in a sub folder inside the ZB directory.

Anyways, Im glad I keep my lo res meshes elsewhere and was able to resculpt this guy again. But still have a few bits to do on him but mostly its back to where it should be, So have it.....an upcoming character for my Outlaws stuff

Cheers
Jay

Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 12:12 PM   #2
wasatch5_sparticus
Registered User
 
wasatch5_sparticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: my house!!
Posts: 261
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Looking sweet, Jay! What's his role going to be? What type of character?

Sparticus
__________________
Expect to excell...
wasatch5_sparticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 06:54 PM   #3
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Cheers Sparticus

He's an old General from a bygone war that went on for a long time. He is now a 'Sheriff' in a run down town, basically retired, that sort of character. I figured I would have him around 127 years old, though he doesnt look it.

I dont know how much you know about the character of Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) from Lord of the Rings but he's actually from a race called the Dunedine Rangers who live until they are about 5000years old. The character Aragorn is about 80 something in The Two Towers, it gets mention in th extended version. And is in the glossary of the books too.

I loved the idea of this warrior thats been around for bloody ages, outlived people and has seen and experienced more shit than you or I put together. So...this character is something similar.

hope this makes sense

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 07:49 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Looking nice Jay!

Waiting for some updates on Outlaws!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 09:12 PM   #5
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

oh sure post your nicely modeled head to make mine look like crap, just kidding... it's looking really good, keep it up.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 09:19 PM   #6
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hey Guys

Thanks.

Steve: Yup absolutely, I'll be getting back to it this week, just something atm (you already know about it)

Mike: LOL, thanks, its just practice practice practice....and lots of observation

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 09:24 PM   #7
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jay


Mike: LOL, thanks, its just practice practice practice....and lots of observation

Cheers
Jay
I've got the observation down, haven't had the practice yet, lol.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 11:27 PM   #8
GioChrono
Registered User
 
GioChrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's a bugger when you lose work, I had to redo my last character sculpt because of a technical prob like that, which reminds me, must back up again.

Looking cool so far, at least you can make him better now you had a practise run, that's the best way of looking at it.

Gio
__________________
Gio

Creator of The Talos Project

GioChrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 11:32 PM   #9
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hey G

yeah true, but I also lost the villain dude too so I was real pissed, Also the final Joker model I was about to texture was a victim too. But I have a back of it at least, but its from Z2 and will need some serious work on it again.

back to it...

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 12:54 AM   #10
GioChrono
Registered User
 
GioChrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, that is crap.

That's why I keep all my work on a second drive, you never know when something bad will happen. It usually happens just after you say "I'll back up tomorrow" followed by "Doh" or something harsher

Gio
__________________
Gio

Creator of The Talos Project

GioChrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 03:05 AM   #11
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

As it happens all my stuff is backed up on the external drive, but as you say ' I'll back up tomorrow' is pretty much spot on - as ever!

Never say Doh


Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 04:18 AM   #12
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have my backup on an external drive that I store in another part of town.... in case of a fire or burglury for example.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 05:20 AM   #13
banksta
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 364
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Real nice jay. I need to practice characters more. I can model the bodey great but I am still having trouble getting the head down like I want. What is your secret Jay.
banksta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 12:11 PM   #14
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

DJ: Cool idea, I dunno where Id put mine in town, somebody would damage it or take it LOL

Banksta: Many thanks, there is no secret, its down to persistence and taking crit and advice. Lots of observation too, this includes just looking at real people and also looking at techniques from good character modelers, then making your own decisions how to model stuff. I've always been a big fan of Bay Raitt (Gollums Modeler) and his techniques of edge loops etc he pretty much introduced the cg community to that technique (I think).

I will add however, that despite this model being Zbrushed its base mesh was still made from scratch in Maya to get those loops in position. Having the loops in place allows for a more natural sculpt in the way of muscle flow around the face. I think its easier this way, as good as ZB is and the amount of polys it handles models need to be manageable for blendshapes etc outside of the sofware so dont be 'blinded' by the Z factor in this area, Z adds the final touch to kick the model into place.

I think my friend and work colleague 'GioChrono' will vouch for me on this one....

Cheers for now
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 12:47 PM   #15
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hey Jay.

Thats what I ve been concentrating on with my model, tyying to get a nice flow and loop postioning so that I can add bits where I want them to be in Zbursh without going overboard with the geo levels.

Would you not consider modeling the blend shapes in Zbrush then exporting them back to maya to create teh blend shapes?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.