Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-12-2002, 08:47 PM   #16
morlich
Subscriber
 
morlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This issue is one that I've stuggled with since I decided to try and make 3D work my career.

I found MAX easier to learn, but got frustrated with things not working the way they are suppose to. It's like they is several different ways to do any one thing, but many times you run into work flow errors that corrupt your file. I like that MAYA eliminates the need to decide what feature or plugin your going to use, like having only one skinning method.

The learning curve for MAYA seems much steeper. Finishing a scene seems to be much harder, but I'm assuming that once you reach that point the results will be much better.

Anyway, I try not to teeter back and forth between the two. It seems counter productive.

So back to work, on MAYA.

M :banana:
morlich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 02:54 PM   #17
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can someone post an image of the MAX interface?
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 04:07 PM   #18
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I like Maya's Interface 1000 times better than the MAXs'... :banana:
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 04:09 PM   #19
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I mean, how can somebody work in that?? I just dont get that!...

anyway... I have one more question.. for you ex-MaX Users... why..O why does MAX have a Teapot for a primitive object??? what is it useful for?? I just dont get that

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 07:47 PM   #20
mitsuo_simplymaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

MAx's interface is not that bad... it is definetively not as good as MAYA's but it has its pros and cons.
Actually one thing that MAYA's interface appears to lack is the ability to "float" the channel box like you can in MAX.
This is particularly helpful if you have a dual monitor setup, so that the line dividing the viewports is between the two monitors.

I also have a separate question:
How come when you try to extrude faces from appended polygons the extruded result is missing a face?
mitsuo_simplymaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2002, 04:35 PM   #21
pitbull
Registered User
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

one thing that maya should hav....ability to sliding keys in the timeline and do some edits in it like cut n paste
__________________
:-)
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2002, 04:36 PM   #22
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

It can
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 10:39 PM   #23
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally posted by Emo
I mean, how can somebody work in that?? I just dont get that!...

anyway... I have one more question.. for you ex-MaX Users... why..O why does MAX have a Teapot for a primitive object??? what is it useful for?? I just dont get that

-Emo
Actually, it's not that bad. The interface is more customizable than Maya's, i.e. you can add custom buttons anywhere you want (left, right, top, bottom, floating etc). The biggest annoyance is the Command Panel on the right. Only one of those tabs can be visible at any one time. You Max users out there will understand what I mean.

The teapot is actually a mathematical formula and is a carry-over from old versions of Max. It's also a good shape for testing lighting, rendering, and dynamics, because it has varied surface topology (hard edges, soft edges, concave and convex faces).
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.