Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-02-2008, 08:47 PM   #46
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Finally done with the UVs!!! :zzz:
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:55 AM   #47
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Got my new tablet yesterday! I used to have an Adesso Cybertablet 6400 and I just got a Wacom Bamboo Fun (small).

Here's the differences:
•The Adesso was cheap, only $55 new. I got the Bamboo (2 months old) on eBay for $65 (with shipping).
•The Adesso has a longer cord.
•The Bamboo's cord can be disconnected.
•The Bamboo takes up a lot less room.
•The Bamboo's design is much better, even the box is better!
•The Bamboo's pen doesn't use a battery, so it weighs a lot less.
•The Bamboo has much better support for Mac OS X. My Cybertablet has 12 function buttons, none of which work, because of the terrible support for OS X from Adesso.
•The Bamboo has a ring that glows blue at the top. Who doesn't want that? I've been ogling over it since it came. :eek3:
•The Bamboo pen's other end is an eraser (works perfectly in PS).
•You can hold the pen higher over the surface of the Bamboo (for tracking).
•The Bamboo has a much cooler pen holder, that unscrews (so you can put the extra tips in there).
•The Bamboo came with 3 extra tips, whilst the Adesso came with only 2 extra ones.
•The Bamboo feels like its much higher in quality.
•The Bamboo has more settings to tweak in the System Prefs.

Overall, I wish this Bamboo came out a year ago, before I got my Adesso. It has much better support for OS X, the one thing that made me hate Adesso so much. I emailed Adesso several times, telling them how bad their support is. One of their support people said they would work on it… that was over 6 months ago.

Now, I have to sell that Adesso on eBay… anyone here interested in it?

Last edited by Jr.Who : 10-02-2008 at 12:08 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 12:14 PM   #48
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Well I'm happy to see you got the UV texturing done!

Thats the worst part of a project for me :headbang:

Congrats on the new Tablet.

That Bamboo sounds great! I wish I brought my Tablet from Ebay, but instead I got my Wacom Graphire 6X4 for $100 from best buy. The very nest day I was browsing Ebay and found the same tablet for $50 bucks.

But I guess mine came with a years warranty.

Anyway, have fun
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 12:15 PM   #49
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

looool love how you lined up all the positive and negative things about your products....

Hahahahaha.

Yes the wacom is kickass. I love the tablet use it allot for photoshop and zbrush.

Thou i have an old one Graphire Studio A5 size.

But it dose everything i need, love it!

Now jr.who stop posting and start texturing

I want to see this killer in supreme state man

Keep up with the updates.
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:12 PM   #50
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by Mayaniac
Thats the worst part of a project for me :headbang:

But I guess mine came with a years warranty.
LOL! It's the worst part for anyone!

Luckily I don't break stuff too often, so I don't need warranties. Although, it probably lets you worry less.

Originally posted by AikoWorld
Yes the wacom is kickass. I love the tablet use it allot for photoshop and zbrush.
Don't even mention ZB to me! We're supposed to be getting it by the end of the month, and I can't wait!

Anyway, got a lot to talk about. First, my partial color-blindness is really becoming a pain now.

I'm also having problems with Maya (so surprising)! In my perspective view, it's not showing my textures, just white (this has never happened to me before). I also get this error in the SE when I select a material in the Hypershade:

Code:
// Error: 	tokenize $upstreamPlug "." $buffer;
 // 
// Error: "$buffer" is an undeclared variable. // 
// Error: 	string $bump2dNode = $buffer[0];
 // 
// Error: "$buffer" is an undeclared variable. //
Besides all that, I got most of the base colors put on. What do you guys think? I've decided to use 4096 x 4096 textures this time around to see the difference. I'm already loving how much more I can zoom in.
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:16 PM   #51
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I remembered that I used to collect these pirate ship models a while back, so I got them from under my bed and took some pics on the ones I like. Two of them stuck out at me and I think I'm going to use a mix of them on my sails.

The first one's sails are old looking (the look I want). This is what I'm going to use for the base color.
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:17 PM   #52
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

And the second one's sails are awesome! I think I'm going to used that tattered, dirty look (from the first one) and put a scull and crossbones (from this one) on top of it.

Does this sound OK?
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:33 PM   #53
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats reel cool man,

I think you should redo your material node, seems a weird problem.

Hey and don`t mind colour blindness, i have the same thing, nobody has noticed so far

even if your colour blind, everybody sees a colour different.

I think that dirty look will be wicked man.
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:37 PM   #54
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

For textures you could be hitting the max on the card running with those high maps, you might have the prefs set too low to display the ones you have in there.

You could see what the variable thats being assigned is to see if you can fix the error (as thats what its saying)

Its looking ok, so far, if your going with old raggidy sails I would make the transprancy map first (to get some holes and that) then apply the colour map to that.

A lot of this will come form the variations in the colour maps, and it will set the scale of the project to.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 11:08 AM   #55
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks, Aiko.

Originally posted by gster123
For textures you could be hitting the max on the card running with those high maps, you might have the prefs set too low to display the ones you have in there.

You could see what the variable thats being assigned is to see if you can fix the error (as thats what its saying)

Its looking ok, so far, if your going with old raggidy sails I would make the transprancy map first (to get some holes and that) then apply the colour map to that.

A lot of this will come form the variations in the colour maps, and it will set the scale of the project to.
I just set the limit higher in my prefs, but once I open them up again, it goes back down. Must be the video card.

Hmm…… transparency map? I'll have to look into it. Do you have any info on it? I was going to save them as PNGs, but I kept having problems with them.

Here's the work for today. Just got the base colors laid onto the unmapped stuff.
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 12:09 AM   #56
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I think that if you use something with transparancy enabled (like a PNG or a .tif) Maya mapps it automatically to the transparancy node when you load it up as a colour map.

Other than that its just a black/white image (or grayscale if you want) that you mapp into the transparacy node.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2008, 06:01 AM   #57
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
I think that if you use something with transparancy enabled (like a PNG or a .tif) Maya mapps it automatically to the transparancy node when you load it up as a colour map.

Other than that its just a black/white image (or grayscale if you want) that you mapp into the transparacy node.
Yeah, I might just go with a PNG for the final texture, but for now, JPGs are going faster. :p

I'm not rushing this project (got till the 22nd!), so I'm taking it slowly and making sure I get everything in there right. Got a couple wood textures on it, but not on all of it. Still have a little tinkering to do on the unmapped stuff, but for now I'm concentrating on the real textures.

I'm hoping to finish up the texturing by Tuesday, so that I can work more on the ocean, the wake, and the render.

I wish I could post the HD one, as there's much more detail in it.
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2008, 06:08 AM   #58
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm really liking what this wood texture is doing to the ship. I'm thinking of putting it on the masts if I can…

Almost done with the texturing, just have to fix the masts and finish up the sails. Any comments?
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2008, 06:38 AM   #59
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

it's not looking bad - maybe just a little plain...and blue looking. let's see some different views / close ups.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2008, 05:21 AM   #60
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by arran
it's not looking bad - maybe just a little plain...and blue looking. let's see some different views / close ups.
Yeah, my eyes like blue.

Anyway, all I have to do now is put a small bump on the ship, mess with the ocean, and render!
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trapjaw (MOTU) W.I.P tweetytunes Work In Progress 7 13-11-2010 11:03 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.