Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-04-2008, 09:28 PM   #1
Red_Roxxor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default motion path problem

Hi,
i've started to make an rocket luncher wich comes out of a hole in the floor. so far no problems but then i wanted to give the rocket (in the luncher) a motion path to follow but when i attach the path my rocket is set to a complitly differnet possition. someone know what i could do?
Red_Roxxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2008, 02:46 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

an objects connects to the motion path depending on where your pivot is...

before putting it on the motion path, press insert and put the pivot where you want it to be.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2008, 09:38 PM   #3
Red_Roxxor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i centered all pivots also the group pivots but it still doesn't work.
Red_Roxxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2008, 09:38 PM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Also watch where you put the forward facing axis when you attach the object to the curve.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 03:20 AM   #5
Red_Roxxor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The axis are set right (i tried it in a diffrent scene and it worked). could there be a problem cause of the previous animation??. The rocket is groupet with the upper part of the luncher wich turns previously.

Last edited by Red_Roxxor : 16-04-2008 at 02:52 AM.
Red_Roxxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2008, 02:52 AM   #6
Red_Roxxor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i solved my problem. i just copyed the rocket and made it visible wehn the first animation was completed. thx for your help
Red_Roxxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2014, 07:40 PM   #7
madaboutsne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
Thanks: 11
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default attaching two object on same motion path

I am having problems with my Solar system project. I would like to attach two planets on the same closed path. When I apply attach to the motion path, planets are positioned on the same spot, to be precise on the second CV of the curve,and at that moment planet's pivot points were centered. I tried to snap objects on the curve from where I would like the objects to start moving and then apply attach, but the results were the same.
Also, after animating these two planets on the same path, they need to follow another planet that should also be attached to it's motion path. I would appreciate an advice for that as well.

Last edited by madaboutsne : 21-06-2014 at 07:42 PM.
madaboutsne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2014, 12:56 AM   #8
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Have a look at this tut should have the info you need...............dave

(8 of 9) Create a robot and rig tank tracks - YouTube
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to daverave For This Useful Post:
madaboutsne (24-06-2014)
Old 21-04-2015, 12:10 PM   #9
saboor21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you can make a shelf or a custom UI with poses you commonly use to block out animation. simple script that copy the values and set a key would do the trick.
saboor21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.