Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-05-2008, 11:23 AM   #1
Grev_Mivlos
Registered User
 
Grev_Mivlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Character Modelling - Your opinion

So guys...

I was wondering how you model characters. Specifically the head!

Let's say that you working in poly, and are making a head. How do you start? With a box, and move vert's or?

I would like to get started on this myself, so i wanna know

Any pic posts or wireframes would be great.


Cheers
__________________
(__/)
(='.'=) This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Grev_Mivlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 11:45 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I typically start with a cylinder.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 11:46 AM   #3
Grev_Mivlos
Registered User
 
Grev_Mivlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, and then u add verts and geometry as you go?
__________________
(__/)
(='.'=) This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Grev_Mivlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 12:44 PM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Personally I start with a cube, its all down to preference at the end of the day, as Mike uses cylinders, I believe Kurt uses a nurbs sphere now and then for blocking then converts later.

Yeah always add the geometry as you go, start as low as possible and push the shapes as far as you can before adding more to it. Check the topology thread in the WiP section, theres plenty of wires there to muse over.

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 01:26 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

yeah I used to start with a cube, but realized eventually that my first few steps were always curving the surface around the face to create a more cylindrical shape so I found just starting with a cylinder saved me a couple minutes.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 02:08 PM   #6
Grev_Mivlos
Registered User
 
Grev_Mivlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok. I believe that many also use z-brush. Is that only for painting? Theres some modeling involved too right?
__________________
(__/)
(='.'=) This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Grev_Mivlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 03:55 PM   #7
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I use a cylinder or sphere

U can model in z brush but i dont know much about it
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 05:45 PM   #8
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I usually start in zbrush, then retopo it in silo and ends up in Maya.
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 10:58 PM   #9
Balloonhead3
Registered User
 
Balloonhead3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: on the 5th galaxy away from urs
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I use cylinder
Balloonhead3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2008, 11:13 PM   #10
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i tend to create a cv curve of a side view of the object, duplicate it then move it to the ide just a little so you can create a loft make the loft shape a ploy then i work out from the middle creating each poly.
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2008, 12:32 AM   #11
Funky Bunnies
Subscriber
 
Funky Bunnies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sculpting in zbrush is fine and dandy, but unless you start it out with good geometry in maya you'll usually end up doing as caligraphics mentioned and retopologize it later.
-don't think think that it'll be any more awesome if you aren't sure about your anatomy though.

Anyway, I usually just end up using zbrush for displacement/normal projection rather than pure modeling

I started in max, so I model with edge-extrusion because it's optimized to work quickly with that method. Usually with a polyPipe for the eyes and the mouth, then slowly connecting them up. This method allows you more precise control over the topology and smaller forms, usually at the cost of the overall form that box modeling will let you in on.
__________________
www.funkybunnies3d.com

Last edited by Funky Bunnies : 27-05-2008 at 12:35 AM.
Funky Bunnies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2008, 03:11 AM   #12
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Yep! I gotta agree with Funky Bunnies, you cant beat a base mesh out of Maya, Max etc before getting into zbrush.

Again this is part of my actual workflow. Maya for base mesh and uvs, then off to Zbrush (if need be) for extra sculpting for displacemnts or normal mapping and sometimes full textures. then back to maya. To build and retopologies is one step too far in the modeling process as it can be a long haul without making it drag on.

Also I find Zb very useful for pushing facial expressions even further as you can 'grab' a handfull of verts and move them in one go instead of the one at a time in maya. Again, my base expressions are done first in Maya to make sure they are okay.

Another great thing with all of this is that once you have a base head built that you are really happy with you can use it over and over and sculpt different heads in zbrush without rebuilding your head every time. Of course there will come a point when your skills will have improved and you'll want to though...

cheers
J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2008, 04:21 AM   #13
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I go form a poly cube make a base mech then inpoty into Zbrush sculpt, then export and UV then re-import as a morph target (not too sure if this is the best way, just that the base topology can move when sculpting and mess with the UV's).

I then either texture in Z poly painting/Projection brushing using a combination between Z and PS.

As Jay and Funkey said, getting a nice base mesh is the way to go.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2008, 08:06 AM   #14
Grev_Mivlos
Registered User
 
Grev_Mivlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, so if you are really going for the realistic "looks" you cant get it, without z-brush or?

Or is z-brush just better and faster when you've created base mesh in maya ?
__________________
(__/)
(='.'=) This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Grev_Mivlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2008, 08:12 AM   #15
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Zbrush is fast - BUT...!!!!

Dont be fooled by the 'holy crap' factor ...'it does this and this'. No it basically you that does it the software is merely the tool. Stuff can look photoreal without the use of zb. Its the way you implement everything. Same as rendering..just because mental ray does this and that, it wont stop anyone from outputting a crap render...I hope you can see what Im saying.

the more realistic you aim for the harder you gotta work!

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 05:04 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.